Uncategorized

Core’dinations + Tombow Blog Hop

Hello, friends!  Today we have a hop for you with inspirations from the team here at Core’dinations and the talented folks at Tombow. For my project, I decided to make the simplest of accordion mini albums, one of 3 that I will make for 3 of my closest high school friends who visited me this last weekend.  Some of us hadn’t seen each other for about 20 years, so needless to say, there was a great deal of reminiscing, new memory making, and the type of hearty laughter that characterized our younger years.  Some of us had lost touch, but getting back into our groove was just about effortless.   So thankful for the time we had.  I thought a nice gift for them would be mini albums in which they could house small photos from our weekend together.  Here is one of the mini albums closed.

VivianKehMiniAlbum_A

And here it is open.

VivianKehMiniAlbum_B

Another view…

VivianKehMiniAlbum_C

I used the Tombow Stamp Runner to adhere all my elements, and my favorite wet glue, Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue, to get into tiny spaces.  The fine tip is perfect for doing detailed work, and adheres paper pieces very very well.  Below, I’m including some details of my embellished pages.   I kept things simple, making sure to leave space for small photos from our reunion.  After I finished this torn mat, I liked it so much that I thought perhaps it would be better not to put a photo on just this one pretty page of the accordion lol!

VivianKehMiniAlbum_D

This pairing of blues from Core’dinations would be great for beach themed projects, don’t you think?  I love the canvas-like texture of Core’dinations Cardstock, and the smooth backside is useful when I want precise stamping.  The word bubbles in this album were stamped and fussy cut.

VivianKehMiniAlbum_E

Below you can see I also created some abstract squares by adhering punched hexagons to a strip of Core, then cutting the strip into squares.  All pieces were sanded to bring out the edges.

VivianKehMiniAlbum_G

I included some dry embossing – love this Diamond Plate pattern below.

VivianKehMiniAlbum_F

Below, more dry embossing with a Riveted Metal embossing folder.  Both these patterns are from a set of Sizzix Embossing Folders #657848.

VivianKehMiniAlbum_H

I die-cut this wonderful warm kraft tone from Core’dinations called “Heritage Kraft.”  I’d recommend full packs of this color to any crafter – very nice tone and very useful!  This doily shape was cut from another great Sizzix die, “For the Record 2, Documented #659109.

VivianKehMiniAlbum_I

Tombow Mono Multi Liquid glue made adhering this detailed die-cut a piece of cake!

VivianKehMiniAlbum_J

I used the bits left over from the die-cut to add design elements to neighboring panels of my mini album.  As you can see, this mini is rather monochromatic in a range of blues.  I will keep the other two monochromatic as well, one in pinks and the other in peaches – so easy to achieve with the wide selection of colors available from Core’dinations.  Sneak peak here the second in my trio of minis which I will share with everyone shortly!

VivianKehMiniAlbum_DTake a look at the prize package from Core’dinations…

GS-6x6-BM-SIT

And from Tombow…

Bloghop_Core'dination

I hope you enjoyed my project!  Make sure to visit all the stops on the hop to qualify to win these prize packages from Core’dinations and Tombow!

Jennie: http://earthyscrap.blogspot.com/
Mary Pat Siehl http://siehledwithakiss.blogspot.com
Vivian Keh http://contadinak.wordpress.com/
Debbie Standard http://debbiestandard.blogspot.com/
Kate Nolan-Denham http://scissorsspatulasandsneakers.blogspot.com/

And don’t forget our lovely manufacturer blogs:
Tombow: http://blog.tombowusa.com/
Core’dinations: http://www.coredinations.com/index.php/cat…scrapbook-blog/

SUPPLIES:

Core’dinations – Pastels Collection, Tim Holtz Distress Collection, Graphic 45 Signature Collection, Sand-It Gadget, Dust Buddy
Tombow – Stamp Runner, Mono Multi Liquid Glue
Sizzix – Embossing Folder Set #657848, Thinlit Die Set #
Hampton Art – Jillibean Soup Clear Stamp Set
Memento – Espresso Dye Ink
Hexagon Punch
Edger Punches
Mark Richards – Nail Heads
The Twinery – Cappuccino Twine
Prima Marketing – Flower
Tim Holtz – Tiny Attacher
Scraps of Darkness – Gold Ribbon

VivianKehMiniAlbumLongShot

26 thoughts on “Core’dinations + Tombow Blog Hop

  1. Your mini album is beautiful. The colours are soothing and will bring back happy memories to the recipient. Which die did you use for the flower on the front of your book?
    Thank you for sharing and for the inspiration.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  2. What great mini albums you made for your friends. Great idea to make your reunion memorable for everybody. Thanks

  3. Delightful mini’s Vivian – what a wonderful way to celebrate your reunion!!!
    Love your fabulous flowers and all the pretty colours, textures and layers of your Core!!!

  4. Pingback: Thursday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #tutorials #giveaways | lifeimitatesdoodles

Leave a Reply

