Uncategorized

Core’dinations + Xyron Blog Swap

Hello everybody.  I hope you are getting a good start to your week.  Last night was one of those rare nights that I didn’t sleep well – it took forever to fall asleep, and then I was up at 3:40 am yuck!  Well, since I am UP, I have no excuse to miss the opportunity to work off my belly at zumba this morning lol!  I digress from my purpose here this morning.  I wanted to let you all know that we at Core’dinations have a blog swap with the wonderful folks at  Xyron this week. Lots of inspiration from the designers on both teams that I hope you will check out.  Shaunte and I are featured at Core’dinations today, and I wanted to give you some more detailed info on my project, if you are interested!

As you probably know already, for awhile now, I’ve been playing non-stop with my “Black Magic” 6×6 pack from Core’dinations.  I had just about nothing left, except for the sheets that had the black top and the white core.  Lucky for me I saved these for last.

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_A1With this particular sheet of cardstock, once you dry emboss sand away the black…

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_1sanded leaves…

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_2

You can customize the white core with the application of inks in your preferred palette of colors!!!

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_3 For these pretty autumn shades, I used an assortment of colors that came in a handy Petalpoint Pigment Inkpad from Clearsnap called “Provence.”

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_4I used a new fave fave tool to adhere my paper punched leaves – the Xyron 1.5 in X tool.  This is what the tool looks like.

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_5

And these are my leaves coming out the bottom, ready to stick.  So convenient!

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_6

I adhered the card front to the base with my Xyron Mega Runner.

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_7And I was done.  Here is a detail of the inking.  I love that I can use different inks for a soft, mottled, romantic effect.

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_BA detail of the punched and easily adhered leaves.

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_CSince I picked one of those tools up, I’ve been using it on literally all of my card projects – perfect for adhering tiny pieces because they save your fingers from getting sticky with glue!

VivianKehCoredinationsXyronCard_DI am making good progress on Thanksgiving cards, using a selection of clear stamps I had on hand from last year.  The nuts and leaves are from a TPC set, and the sentiment is Inkadinkado.  Both were stamped with white pigment ink.  The sentiment was stamped onto a piece that I had die-cut using a Sizzix Bigz “Gift Tags” Die #658730.  And the dry embossing in my background was done with a Sizzix “Fancy & Floral” Embossing folder #657197.

Hope you enjoyed my inspiration today!

-V

20 thoughts on “Core’dinations + Xyron Blog Swap

  1. Oh gosh….impressive work !!! As usually I LOVE your art ! You are such a gifted artist !!! Thank you for sharing.
    Hugs from SPAIN

  2. Ah Vivian, what I’d give for a wee slice of your talent :-) Just beautiful! I’ve had a small Xyron for years and never remember to use it – must get it out and utilise it once more – I’m thinking of the amount of time I could have saved on my last fiddly cards…… Thank goodness you are here to remind me! :-) Pauline

  3. very nice. I’ve taken your cue and did two cards yesterday for thanksgiving using Tim’s vintage core’dinations. Thanks for the inspiration. The card above is lovely.

  4. What a great idea to add colour to the sanded off white core. All of Close To My Heart’s cardstock has a white core and I never thought of adding colour to it once sanded. So simple and brilliant – love the effect! TFS!

  5. Beautiful!!!! Inking after sanding creates a stunning effect. Thank you for the reminder to sand and ink, sometimes these little techniques get forgotten. They provide amazing colour effects that provide a wow factor. I need to try the xyron glue runner, I haven’t had great experience with other brands of dry glue dispensers in the past. I am looking for a good small one. Thank you for sharing this gorgeous card.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

Leave a Reply

