Uncategorized

Papers I Lurve

Hi there, folks!  How are you doing today?  I am getting very very inky and sticky in the studio today and having a grand old time with it.  Hope to have something from today’s adventures to share with you soon!

So what’s goin’ on in the papercrafting world today, you ask?  Well, did you know that my favorite cardstock manufacturer, Core’dinations, is having a blog swap event this week with my favorite patterned paper manufacturer, Authentique? Every time I get my hands on patterned papers from Authentique, the crafting just flows, and the result always pleases me.  It could be a number of qualities that draw me to them – the dense, textured quality of so many of their collections, the incredible finesse with which they choose their hues, the vintage ease that permeates all their products.  All I know is I love it.  I lurve it.  I loave it lol!

We designers are Core’dinations are so blessed because we get to work with the best cardstock around, and our folks in marketing are constantly forging and reinforcing fantastic relationships with others in the industry.  I am a very very happy hard core crafter.

For our blog swap, I have a trio of cards to share with you that combine Authentique’s “Be(you)tiful” Collection – warm sherbert colors and soft patterns in that collection – with cardstock primarily from Core’dinations’ “Vintage” Collection.

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueCard1_AIn the first, I paired some of the grey-er patterned papers with a pretty piece of grey from our “Vintage” Collection that I had dry embossed with a delicate flourish.

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueCard1_BI added small hand-cut banner pieces to show off more of the warm tinted patterned papers from the same Authentique line.

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueCard1_CMy second card happened by accident.  I had a clean wide scrap strip of yellow from Core’dinations’ “Vintage” Collection that was begging to be torn.  So I did.  And I realized it would make a very modern type of banner piece for my card.

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueCard2_AI embellished the top with a little strip of patterned paper and a punched piece -altogether they made me a very happy crafter.

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueCard2_CYou can be sure I will be playing with this simple composition a lot more in upcoming card posts!

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueCard2_BSomehow this bold swatch of yellow feels Asian to me.

For my last card, I really wanted to keep all the pretty typography intact, so I used a rather large piece.  Our “Vintage” Collection at Core’dinations has a delicious sherbert color that went perfectly with this line from Authentique.

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueCard3_ARemember the pretty blue sheet from Authentique’s “Natural” Collection that I couldn’t stop raving about in the video for this card below?

Tips for Mass Producing Holiday Cards Video Tutorial

Tips for Mass Producing Holiday Cards Video Tutorial

I am equally excited about this sherbert hue in both the Core and Authentique lines I’ve showcased for you today!  Any non-crafter would look sideways at me over how excited I get about color.  But I know you guys get just as enthused when a color just sings to you, right?

VivianKehCoreAuthentiqueTrio

Thanks so much for visiting with me here today, friends.  I had such a great time making these cards, and just as much fun sharing the inspirations with you here on my blog.  Be sure to stop by the Core’dinations blog to get supply lists and inspirations from the rest of our team, and don’t forget to visit Authentique, too!  Word really must spread about their beautiful patterned papers.

Happy Crafting!

-V

16 thoughts on “Papers I Lurve

  1. I look forward to your posts to see what you are up to. You always leave me inspired to try new things. Now if only I could carve out some more time to try them I would be a happy crafter. Thanks. The cards are elegant and beautiful.

  2. I feel the same about Authentique paper…love your card designs and your yummy choices. Seems Asian to me as well! Keep listening to that SONG ;)

  3. PS Forgot to mention, I had just purchased the “Vintage” paper pack earlier today. Now I’m curious to find that yellow paper!

  4. I have been so inspired by your designs. If you use a Big Shot, what sandwich do you use to do your embossing folders?(I keep admiring those crisp raised edges!) Also, what embossing folder is that delicate flourish…?THNKS

    • hi terry. hope you saw my fb reply. regarding the big shot, you can pull open the top tab and you will see on the illustrations that this is where embossing folders should be set. over time, i am starting to think it’s actually variety between different folders that alters how crisp an impression you get.

  5. Oh no ….too tempting !! Each time you show some of your fabolous work I “need” the same supplies….these cards are so pretty. Using these color combos make them appear calm, pretty yet elegant !
    I do admire your creativity so much ! Thank you for sharing !!!!!
    Hugs from SPAIN

Leave a Reply

