On the Road Again

Hello, my friends, and Happy New Year!  If you have visited my facebook page, then you know that this Christmas was bittersweet for me.  In the days leading up to Christmas, my beloved cat, Jujubee, became quite ill.  We discovered that she had cancer and was in pain, so we made the very difficult decision to put her to sleep.  We were able to have a vet come to our home so that she could go as comfortably as possible and surrounded by her crew.  Jonathan held her in his lap while I wrapped my arms around her, looking into her eyes the whole time.  I guess this heartbreak is a small price to pay to have these angels share their lives and their boundless love with us.

jujubee_04This is Jujubee as I like to remember our Chubz, lounging in the sun, four paws up.  Jujubee loved hanging out with us on the sofa, was always ready to bat at our fingers under the covers, and was the sweetest cat.  She stayed with me through several different phases of my life, and when I worked late night shifts not so long ago, she’d always be waiting for me on the windowsill as I dragged my feet to my front door.  That always made me happy.  I will miss her dearly.  Keeping track of developments in the lives of loved ones near and far, it seems that 2013 involved heartbreaking loss for an unusually large number of folks.  If this was the case for you, may 2014 be a time of new beginnings.  I am definitely ready.  My girl’s death came on Christmas Eve, and in retrospect, having to host 25+ on Christmas Day was a good thing.  It got us moving, at the very least.  And even though we were/are mourning, there was much merriment and celebration at our home on Christmas Day, and I think everyone had a great time.

I’ve been offline for a stint because shortly after Christmas, I flew to Florida to visit my family.  The days were jam packed with activity. Cooking for large groups regularly was quite an experience haha!  The best part of this visit was that I got to spend quality time with my niece and nephews and get to know them so much better.  I discovered that my niece, Camilla, loves so many of the same things that I do.  We had a ball crocheting, baking cookies, jogging, shopping, watching movies, dancing.

mimiIsn’t she lovely?  One sharp cookie, too.

There is so much more to tell you, but I must finish laundry before I drive to Anaheim tomorrow morning for the Craft and Hobby Association Mega Show!  I am simultaneously tired and excited as I just got back home last night and haven’t had a chance to get my bearings.  Such is life.  But I am looking forward to learning loads and loads of new things, meeting friends I have only known virtually, and getting inspired.  I promise I will share updates and pix of the festivities on instagram and my facebook page, so if you want to follow along, please hook up with me there over the next several days!  There may be some celebrity sightings lol.

For the time being, I know some of you have been waiting for a new video.  I have a simple one for you and I hope you enjoy it.

Love,
Vivian

VivianKehLindysCard_A

14 thoughts on “On the Road Again

  1. So very sorry to hear of your holiday heartache. Thanks for making another fabulous video for us! AND for posting before you dash to CHA! Hope that is a terrific time for you!

  2. Sorry for your loss. I know how you must feel. I also lost a dog when I was in my twenties and about 7 years ago I lost Tiger, my cat of 13 years, vowing not to get another pet knowing that another loss at the age I probably would be, when it might happen, would be too traumatic. But fate would have it otherwise. After my parents passed away my nephew moved in with Yue, his cat, in tow. Needless to say, as it goes with most, if not all, cats…Yue has adopted me. I hope that in time you will adopt another cat. On a lighter note, I hope you have a grand time at CHA! I look forward to your posts…you are an inspiration to me.

  3. She’s back! I missed that voice. Your niece is a beauty. Looking forward to her crafting videos in the future. he he. I can imagine the ups and downs you must have gone through over the holidays Time for some happiness now.. May this year be kind to you and yours. I love you. <3

  4. I am sorry you lost your cat, our animals can most of the time be our best friends. You will never forget her and I also hope you have a great time at CHA. Looking forward to hearing what you’ve learned. Great video. Thanks Have a blessed week.

  5. I’m sorry for the loss of your cat. It is hard to lose furry friends. Thank you for the video showing us how to make that lovely background – I’m going to try it. =) Be inspired at CHA!

  6. I am sorry for your loss of your beloved kitty. In 2000, I lost my beloved 19 year old grey tabby boy. Our dog baby is now 14 years old and showing her age, and I know when the time comes we will be brokenhearted and grieving. You and your hubby are in my prayers and thoughts. I have found that when I am hurting that art journaling and paint help me to heal. Thank you for the video, making the leaves with just white paper gave a different perspective, I will use that in the future. Thank you for sharing. Enjoy CHA!
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  7. “they leave their paw prints on our heart”……so true. we will always hold them close to us but I do know the unbearable pain of losing a 4 legged furry child.

    I hope to find you at CHA. I will definitely be looking for you :-)

  8. I am so sorry to hear about your cat. it is such a heartbreaking experience to make that decision. I am not looking forward to that. My prayers to you and your family.

  9. Hi Vivian!
    Wow! You have been through a lot! I am SO sorry to hear about your precious Jujubee! I can honestly say that I truly understand. I lost my kitty Oreo, not too long ago…if he had hung on a few more weeks, we would have celebrated his 20th Birthday!
    The pain was debilitating. I am not sure how you made it through Christmas eve and then a day full of guests to serve. I can only imagine that the stress and timing of it all was nearly too much to bear. I can tell you that each day that passed it does seen a bit easier but I miss him dearly. Hold tight to Mabu and Papusa, they will be a HUGE help.

    Yes, Peace, that is my prayer for 2014. Like you, 2013 was a hard year, I am ready for good things to come in 2014…Cheers to you my friend…

    {{{HUGS}}}
    Valerie

  10. Oh dear……i feel so sad about your loss of your beloved cat. I know how you feel. Many of us tried the same. It is extremely heartbreaking. And my compliments on your success in getting the vet to your house. If it has to be done it is the best way in safe surroundings. And surrounded by love. At least we might comfort ourselves that our animals can go to sleep with dignity. Opposite humans who often suffers way too long. She will stay in your heart along with the fantastic memories from your time together.
    I wish you a blast at CHA… Wish I could go there and say hello…..wohooooo !!!
    Hugs from SPAIN

  11. Dear Viv, I am very sorry to hear about your gorgeous Jujubee (what a lovely name!).., but you know she has not left you at all…, I have also a few cats and a dog in the spirit life, so I understand your feelings..
    Thank you so much for another beautiful and stylish video.. I love the card…xx

  12. So sorry for the loss of your cat, it’s always to lose your pets. And thanks for the video, so nice the colours you used. I am specially liking the mixed media videos you did on YouTube where I discovered and followed you.

Leave a Reply

