Love Notes

Hello, friends!  I hope your week has gotten off to a good start.  As for me, can you believe it – I’m still wiped out from CHA?!  My back has never hurt for this many days in a row.  A very big sign to me that the body needs some regular exercise and supplementation ASAP!

Prior to CHA, I spent a nice chunk of time, 12 days in fact, in Florida with Mom, Dad, siblings, niece and nephews.  I wouldn’t say it was relaxing, haha, but it was definitely fun.  I had a wonderful opportunity to get to know my niece and nephews better.  Walking around town with my niece, baking together, giggling with each other, and realizing she loves many of the activities that I do, I think I got a little taste of what it must feel like to be a mom.

I’ve heard along the grapevine that since our time together, my niece has been talking about me regularly.  And so have I.  I want to make sure that despite the distance, she knows that I love her and that I’m always here for her.  So I whipped up a little love note for her, working fast and dry with my much neglected patterned papers and some new Sizzix dies!

VivianKehSizzixCard_AThe background was die-cut using the Sizzix “Spools and Labels” Die #659181.  While I used it here to create a graphic background, folks – since it is of the Bigz type, you can cut them out of cardboard/upcycled corrugate, wrap all your tangled strings and ribbons around them and store them like a civilized human being!

VivianKehSizzixCard_BI am always on the lookout for pretty label dies and embossing folders – great for cards, gift boxes, and in pieces as embellishments.  I could halve  this one and use it as a decorative hinge – see what I’m talkin’ about? It is the Sizzix “Jar Labels” #659184 Die and Embossing Folder Set.   I snatched this one up right away.

VivianKehSizzixCard_C

For finishing touches, some coordinating flowers and a button from the stash.

VivianKehSizzixCard_D

Inside the card, I included a little note in an envelope, just a little reminder that Aunt Vivian thinks she is DA BOMB!  These pieces were die-cut using the Sizzix “Envelope & Tag, Mini” #659180.  The scraps from the spools that I had die cut before were used to decorate – to me they look like stylized trees.

VivianKehSizzixCard_EGosh, this professed cardmaker wasn’t able to send out cards for the holidays.  Whuuut?!  But I am going to make an effort to send out cards throughout the year to the folks I love.

It’s good to be back with you on the blog.  If you missed my last post with 2 sizeable GIVEAWAYS celebrating over 5000 YouTube Subscribers, don’t miss your chance to win.

Much love,
Vivian

SIZZIX SUPPLIES:

OTHER:
My Mind’s Eye – Patterned Paper
Ranger – Vintage Photo Distress Ink
Hemptique – Hemp String
Really Reasonable Ribbon – Seam Binding
Prima – flowers
Memento – Espresso Dye Ink
Studio G – Alpha Stamps

9 thoughts on “Love Notes

  1. adorable. the relationship you have now with your niece will last a lifetime. I have one of those relationships with my niece who is now 40 but we’re still that close. And funny, she also liked all the crafty things I would do. As a 6 year old, I remember doing “shrinky dinks” with her. Fond memories last forever.

  2. Wonderful card! Your niece will love it. Such a cute story about your relationship. I have never seen those dies. Loving the jar labels. Take care. Do some regular stretching for your back, it works for me. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

