Delicate Handmade Flowers

So I’ve been pouring over my seed catalogs for the past several weeks.  How about you?   I find them hugely inspiring, I end up ordering so much seed and then getting some major workouts digging hole after hole, amending, etc.  This year, I am ordering a ton of seed from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds.  Have you heard of them?  I know many of you are yearning for spring in the midst of snow and freezing temps.  Visit me on Instagram to see all the developments in my garden and hook up with me there to show me yours!!!  The card I have to share with you today was definitely inspired by spring.

VivianKehCoreDogwoodCard_AFor the flowers, I used “Creme Brulee” from Core’dinations Graphic 45 Signature Series.  die-cutting them with a Sizzix “Flower, Dogwood” #658405 Die Set.

VivianKehCoreDogwoodCard_CTo achieve the soft veining in the leaves, I used a stylus on the backside of my die-cut pieces to press vein lines  into the leaves, sanded off the ridges with my Sand-it Gadget, and lightly misted.  The mist absorbed along the sanded areas to create a very soft look that I love!

VivianKehCoreDogwoodCard_BThe pretty embossed pattern was achieved using  a Sizzix “Flowers and Perfume” #658969 Embossing Folder Set (part of the French Farmhouse Collection I’ve been raving about) and a soft neutral hue from Core’dinations’ Tim Holtz Kraft-Core “Shattered” Collection.

Thanks so much for visiting with me today!  Hope spring reaches you soon if it hasn’t already!

-Vivian

SUPPLIES:
Core’dinations – “Creme Brulee” from Core’dinations Graphic 45 Signature Series, Core’dinations’ Tim Holtz Kraft-Core “Shattered” Collection, Sand-it Gadget, Dust Buddy
Sizzix – “Flower, Dogwood” #658405 Die Set, “Flowers and Perfume” #658969 Embossing Folder Set
Really Reasonable Ribbon – Cream Lace
Viva Decor – pearl pen
Lindy’s Stamp Gang – “Curiouser Chartreuse” mist
Ranger – Vintage Photo Distress Ink

6 thoughts on “Delicate Handmade Flowers

  1. Gorgeous card, I always love flowers and yours are awesome. Can’t for spring to get to SD this year so I can plant my garden and see all of my perennials sprout up again.

  2. Beautiful! So soft and springy. I haven’t even started thinking about the garden yet. We (hubbie and I) need to add some soil to our raised beds before I plant anything. Want a few veggies and lots of flowers I can cut and take to work. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Vivian, It’s been awhile since I’ve been by. This is soooo lovely. I adore the Creme Brulee cardstock. Perfect backdrop made with that embossing folder. And the dogwood blossoms are stunning. Thanks for the inspiration ;) — Mary Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

