Uncategorized

Pouring Paint Video Tutorial

Hi, Friends!  I have a new project to share with you that comes with a video tutorial.  It focuses on a watercolor technique that I love, Pouring Paint.  But as my watercolors are not “out” and accessible at the moment, I thought I’d share a version of this technique using my handy mists.

VivianKehPouringPaint_APouring Paint makes for luminous projects and helps open one’s mind to uses of color that are not immediately apparent.  Adding color, for example, where you see none.  “What does Vivian mean,” you ask?  Well, I’ve seen this technique used fantastically to create snow.  Snow is white, yes?  But when you pour very diluted paint to start your painting of snow, the results are GORGEOUS!  Those of you still inundated with snow ought to get out and take some pix of your snowy scenes and then paint them.

I used more concentrated color for my project, and I just love how the colors transition and move.

VivianKehPouringPaint_EIn the video, I share a few ways you can preserve the luminous colors.

VivianKehPouringPaint_CDo you recognize this style of dry embossed patterns?  It’s more Vintaj love!  This is another 6×6  Sizzix Vintaj Embossing folder #658816 “Indian Print.”

VivianKehPouringPaint_DAnd the focal image was die-cut and embossed in one pass using the Sizzix Vintaj Embosslit #658807 “Branching Leaf.”  At the end of the video, Pupusa will flirt with you, too!

VivianKehPupusa

Hope you will take a break from your day to watch!

SUPPLIES:

Sizzix -

Other-
Clearsnap – SMOOCH Spritz, Watermark Ink
Inkadinkado – Stamps
Strathmore – Mixed Media Paper
Ranger – Distress Inks, Glossy Accents, Clear Embossing Powder
Core’dinations – Cardstock

20 thoughts on “Pouring Paint Video Tutorial

  1. I am really loving the Vintaj folders. This is a great tutorial and love looking into the eyes of little Papusa. Happy rain :)

  2. Love this and watching you work! I am going to try this technique with a Happy Birthday embossing folder that I just picked up. Loved seeing little Pupusa and shots of the garden in process. I really hope to see further shots of both of those also. Sending thoughts of light, love, and creativity!

    • thanks so much, cindy. i’m so glad you enjoy the other stuff, because i’d really love to share more of it. since this is the busy time of year for gardeners in california, i will have much more to share in the coming weeks.

  3. Wonderful card and video! Love your pup and garden shots also!! I love to garden as well, but where we live, it’s going to be a while before we can get into the garden. :( It’s been a winter of snow and cold. Today it is -24F. VERY cold!! Look forward to seeing more of your garden. :)

    • Minus 24!!! I will def share more views of the garden, especially for folks with a short growing season. Thanks so much for stopping by, Linda. Glad you are enjoying the inspirations.

  4. As ever your video tutorials are always the treats I save myself for when all the DT and blogging stuff is complete. It is just wonderful to sit quietly and drink in every detail, having those ‘oh yes!’ moments along the way. Inspired again Vivian. Thank you for helping to keep my mojo going. Jenny x

  5. Pingback: Monday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #Lifeimitatesdoodles | lifeimitatesdoodles

  6. Beautiful! The colors and textures are just amazing. I have some of these folders but haven’t gotten the chance to play with them yet. Thanks for the video. Yes, would love to get regular updates on the garden. Hugs!

  7. Thank you for sharing the video tutorial. A very interesting technique that I have never heard of before. Something I will experiment with in the future. Loved you sharing puposa and your garden, I am always interested in people’s gardens. Thanks for the info about the 4 tined fork and the worms, I did not know about that either. Congratulations on the one act play!
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  8. Hi Contadinak, l have never heard about this Art form but l really want to learn. I’m also an avid gardener. How do l go about beginning, what should l buy to start off. I’m from Ireland and some products and brand names l’ve never heard of, is there a website l Can order what l need? By The way l have a dog very similar to your Pupusa, but her coat is black on a white background. Thanks l can’t wait to get going.

    • I would start by picking up media in your primary colors – red, yellow, and blue. This is actually a watercolor technique, and if you use watercolors, in my opinion, working with the wet watercolors in tubes is more satisfying that the dry pan type watercolors. For this technique, dilute the pigments with water before pouring. If you don’t want to use watercolors, stop by a major craft store, pick up a few mists. I’m sure they have some, perhaps not the brands I’ve mentioned, but they will have something. As for paper, a substantial one – watercolor paper, mixed media paper, a heavyweight cardstock. Please share your adventures with pouring paint over on the Contadina K facebook page. I love when you guys share your creations with me.

Leave a Reply

