Uncategorized

St. Patty’s Day Inspirations

Hi there, folks.  I have a bit of St. Patrick’s Day inspiration for you today.  My roots are Korean, and so I’ve not been one to celebrate this day much in the past.  But the little I do know of Irish culture is fascinating to me and I wish I knew more.  At the very least, I know that the clover is significant.  In the garden, whenever I find clover growing anywhere, four leaved or not, there are almost always lots of earthworms in the soil just beneath, which is true good fortune for this devoted gardener. I may even steal a few of the “brown gold” makers from this spot and place them in areas where the soil really needs their good work!  (Garden side note – I have been finding tons of huge worms in the soil close to my compost pile.  Weirdo me has been trying to gently stroke them, but they are so healthy and strong that they thrash about so much and cause me to squeal lol!)

Today I have a card for you that uses Core’dinations Cardstock from a few of my beloved collections.

VivianKehCoreStPattysCard_1For my focal image, I used a green hue from the Core’dinations “Vintage Collection” to die-cut these delicate clovers on my Silhouette, using file #32596 by Patty Young Designs.   For a soft background, I used our Tim Holtz “Shattered” Kraft Core Collection.

VivianKehCoreStPattysCard_2I added distress inks, spritzes of water and colored mists to make my background just a little bit grungier.

VivianKehCoreStPattysCard_CPersonally, I adore greens and purples together, so I set the focal image atop a purple banner piece cut from our Tim Holtz Nostalgic Kraft Core Collection. There is a beautiful muted green hue that’s already pre-embossed in our Basic Grey “Ornate” Collection which I used for my background piece, sanding to reveal the pretty doily shapes.

VivianKehCoreStPattysCard_BA strip of natural looking fiber added some textural interest, as well as a few dots of pearls.

VivianKehCoreStPattysCard_AI have one more card to share with you today.

As you may know if you follow me regularly, most of my projects are usually anything but CAS, but I think it’s very important to stretch one’s crafty muscles now and then.  It gives me an opportunity to appreciate the skills of folks who design in styles other than mine as well as a chance to see if it’s time to venture into new crafty territory.

VivianKehCASCoreCard_1 For my card, I started out with  a bright and happy hue from our Core’dinations “Vintage” Collection, plus a great cutting file for my Silhouette Cameo, #25132 by Sweet Afton.  This cutting file has three great borders, including horseshoes and fun St. Patty’s text in addition to the pretty clover strand you see here.  I adore accentuating edges of my Core’dinations Cardstock with a delicate sanding of the edges.  With these more intricate die-cuts, I do the sanding with a light hand so as not to tear any of the stems.

VivianKehCASCoreCard_2Have I shared with you how much I adore my Xyron X Sticker Maker?  A crafty friend online introduced me to this tool awhile back, and it now sits on my craft table at all times, making adhering strips like these a complete breeze.

VivianKehCASCoreCard_3My die-cuts went onto a background of  Creme Brulee from our Graphic 45 Signature Series.  I love this particular cream because it’s very fresh.  For a bit of shine, I added some Glossy Accents from Ranger to the clover strip and some text that was also die-cut from my Silhouette, file #39508 by Jamie Koay.

VivianKehCASCoreCard_AAnd a few gems from my stash to liven up the white space a little bit but stay within the world of CAS.  I rounded the top corner of my cream piece and my green base in order to bring the eye upward.

DELICATE ST. PATTY’S DAY CARD SUPPLIES:
Core’dinations: “Vintage” Collection, Tim Holtz “Shattered” Kraft Core Collection,  Basic Grey “Ornate” Collection , Sand-It Gadget, Dust Buddy
Silhouette: File #32596 by Patty Young Designs
Viva Decor – Pearl Pen
Ranger – Distress Inks
May Arts – fibers

CAS ST. PATTY’S CARD SUPPLIES:
Core’dinations: “Vintage” Collection,  Graphic 45 Signature Series, Sand-It Gadget, Dust Buddy
Silhouette: File #25132 by Sweet Afton, File #39508 by Jamie Koay
Xyron: X Sticker Maker
Ranger: Glossy Accents
Self-adhesive Gems
We R Memory Keepers: Corner Chomper

6 thoughts on “St. Patty’s Day Inspirations

  1. Vivian

    Such a pleasant surprise in Email today. Your creations spoke to me because they were so in the St. Patrick’s mood – minus the trite and usual. “Kelly” green isn’t the only green in Ireland, and, the purple blew me away.

    Just starting my journey into mixed-media and am having more fun than is decent.

    Carol

  2. Yay, a post from Contadina K! Your first card is definitely “you” as far as your creative style, but I must say you nailed the CAS card. Wonderful cards. Gee, don’t have a Silhouette but sure like the shamrock border. I would love to see you caressing those earth worms :) Your story really tickled me.

Leave a Reply

