Uncategorized

Spring Has Sprung!

Hello, friends!  How are you?   I’m definitely itching for the spring blossoms to start making a show.  The poppies have had buds for weeks, it seems, and finally their soft tissue-like petals have unfurled.   Have you seen my Garden Update on youtube?

I have a journal to share today that is definitely inspired by spring, crafted using upcycled corrugate as a base, and Core’dinations “Vintage” Collection for all the patchworked pieces and die-cut embellishments.

VivianKehVintageCoreJournal_AFor both the cover and the back, I dry embossed several colors of Core’dinations Cardstock from the “Vintage” Collection, making great use of my stash of embossing folders.  These were cut into smaller pieces and stitched together to form a pleasing background.

VivianKehVintageCoreJournal_BSizzix has a fantastic Bigz die “Flowers & Leaves” #658480, which I used for the pretty leaf details on the back.

VivianKehVintageCoreJournal_DAnd the floral detail on the front.  As you can see, sanding the edges of my die-cut pieces creates subtle variations in tone.  Sanding the dry embossed pieces reveals bold patterns and textures that I so love!  The palette of colors in the Vintage Collection is bright, fresh, and conducive to happy feelings, don’t you think?

VivianKehVintageCoreJournal_CTearing of the Core’dinations Cardstock added a nice punch of interest to the inside cover.

VivianKehVintageCoreJournal_E

I am so excited because the San Francisco Flower Show is happening right now!  I was blessed to be able to spend all day there on Wednesday, and I’m there again TODAY!  Visit me on Instagram or Twitter for updates on what’s happening at the show!

SUPPLIES:
Core’dinations:  “Vintage” Collection, Sand-It Gadget, Dust Buddy
Sizzix: “Flowers & Leaves” #658480 Bigz Die
Embossing Folders: Sizzix, Darice, Cuttlebug
Really Reasonable Ribbon – Seam binding, twine
Buttons
Upcycled Corrugate

7 thoughts on “Spring Has Sprung!

  1. Never would I have thought of this ! You have made a beautiful card.I LOVE all your cards, as they are artistic, elegant but ones we all can make with your excellent directions! What an artist you are! One day, I hope to meet you in person as it would be soooo thrilling for me! As they used to say, “You are groovy and your cards are outta sight!!” :) A 60 yr “old” admirer!

  2. Love the color combo and your selection of embossing folders. Everything ties in so nicely. I’m going to have to get that sewing machine out and on my craft table! Thanks for the inspiration……again

  3. Gorgeous bright colors!!! I am so ready for spring as well. I love the patchwork of this card. Great way to bring in several beautiful textures and colors. Awesome make Vivian! — Mary Elizabeth

  4. Pingback: Vintage Doesn’t Have to Mean Old

Leave a Reply

