Uncategorized

Pretty with Sizzix Vintaj

Hello, folks!  How are you today?  My niece and I have been having a great time the last several days dividing our time between seeing the sights and doing cozy stuff at home.  Today we are crafting up a storm in the studio.  One thread that I’ve noticed throughout her stay is a real tactile interest in everything, whether it’s running her fingers through soil and mud even (lol), running barefoot in the garden, or feeling all the creatures and kelps at the touching pools at the aquarium.  In keeping with the tactile theme of her visit, I decided to craft simply for today’s project, monochromatic, with a focus on yes, texture!

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_AI’m sure you know by now that I’m in love with the Vintaj Collections offered through Sizzix.  Let me share with you some of their yummy crafting tools today!

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_1This is a die/embossing folder set, “Henna Butterfly,” #658803.  I love the small scale of these folders, and especially, the unique shape of the small butterfly in this set.

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_2For the focal image, I die-cut that little pretty and set her atop a medallion shape that had been embossed and then fussy-cut.

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_3The plain white piece offers an area of quiet, and an opportunity for the eye to distinguish between the variety of textures I included in this card project.  I couldn’t leave it entirely bare though, and so included a pearl accent border.

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_4This lovely pattern was embossed using a Sizzix Vintaj “Moroccan Fresco” #658819 Embossing Folder in that very useful 6×6 in. size.

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_AThe finished card.

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_CShadows created with the use of pop dots further distinguish the various elements.

VivianKehSizzixVintajWhiteCard_DAnd a little sanding softens the cut edges.

My niece really wants to make a video together, so hopefully we’ll have something to share with you on youtube shortly!  Happy crafting!

-Vivian

 

SUPPLIES:
Sizzix – Vintaj Die & Embossing Folder Set “Henna Butterfly” #658803
Vintaj “Moroccan Fresco” #658819 Embossing Folder
Strathmore – Mixed Media Paper
Viva Decor – Pearl Pen

27 thoughts on “Pretty with Sizzix Vintaj

  1. What? I didn’t know that Vintaj had smaller embossing folders!!! Love these. Oh my this card is just beautiful! So glad you are having a fun time with your niece. Thanks for sharing.

    • hi sharon! thank you! yes, these smaller ones are great for embellishing the die-cuts and other smaller scale focal images. we have been having so much fun and being totally goofy. but this afternoon, this old fogie had to nap while the niece hung out.

  2. So pretty girls! I need a card today so Im off to try to get something made that will have a similar clean and pretty look. Glad you are enjoying each others company.

  3. Hi Vivian! I love your blog and your videos! Thank you do much for sharing your techniques and creative ideas! Not only are they informative (the materials list is so helpful!) but I can also tell they come from the heart and that’s part of what I love about collage and card making.

    One question– do you have an embossing machine you would recommend? I’m looking to buy one and am not sure how to choose! I’ve pretty much eliminated the digital machines, so am looking for a hand cranking one… Do you have any recommendations? Thank you!

    • Hi Mia! Thank you so much. I would recommend the Sizzix Big Shot – it is both a manual die-cutting machine and an embossing machine. It is very sturdy – I love mine and consider it a craft room essential.

  4. Oh I’d love to see a video with you and your niece creating. I did not know vintaj had smaller embossing folders. I do like monochromatic so love love this card and must get a couple of the 6×6 folders. Thanks for the great inspiration.

    • hi debbie! thank you! hope you’re healing well. i had a broken toe and badly sprained foot – it requires a lot of patience. hopefully you can get the appropriate physical therapy promptly.

  5. This is a beautiful card! it sounds like you are having a great visit with your niece too! Have you taken her to the Tech Museum downtown? That is lots of fun. I hear the new Exploratorium in SF is fabulous too; we haven’t made it up there yet.

  6. This card is gorgeous Vivian! I am not much of a fan of white on white, but this card is bringing me over to the white side! All the texture and of course the butterfly! I will be making some cards along this line soon. I don’t have the Vintaj folders yet, but I will , they are on my list. Too bad this card wasn’t posted on the sizzix blog, I would love to have seen this beauty there. Thank you for the creative inspiration.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

Leave a Reply

