Art and Craft

Magic at Sea

As the warm weather has definitely arrived here in Northern California, I have begun reminiscing about one of the best vacations I ever took – a trip to Hawaii a few years ago with my then boyfriend now husband.  My favorite part of that trip was snorkeling in the lesser known spots, and on quiet days, really being able to savor all the marine life just below the water’s surface.  I will always cherish the sense of wonder I experienced there.

VivianKehSandDollarMini_A

Those memories definitely informed the mini album that I have to share with you today – I have more detail shots at the Sizzix blog and I hope you will visit me there to see them!  In conjunction, I thought you might like a stepped out tutorial over here.

VivianKehSandDollarMini_1Aren’t these sand dollar die-cuts gorgeous!  I was so excited to add them to my collection – since most of my projects incorporate nature, I know that I will use them a lot. I die-cut several of these  in one pass using the sand dollar die from the “Mini Sand & Sea” Set.  Since it is a Movers & Shapers die, it should be used in conjunction with a base tray and acrylic plates (see below) or a base die like the “Big Ticket” die discussed further down in this post.  I added just a touch of misting to these sand dollars using pretty SMOOCH Spritz hues from Clearsnap.

By die-cutting about four pieces at once, I was able to get a range of impressions, and a few deep impressions like this, in which the central star element was cut through all the way.

VivianKehSandDollarMini_3This way, I could pull out the central design and distress with chalk ink.  Folks, I am newly in love with chalk ink – superior blending and fast drying for effects like this!  In fact, this Yellow Ochre hue from Clearsnap was the only ink I used in this project – for all the distressing and all the stamping.

VivianKehSandDollarMini_2

I die-cut the covers and their upcycled corrugate bases using the “Big Ticket” die in conjunction with a Crease Pad (see both below).  Nice basic shape.  Very versatile – in addition to mini albums, I’m thinking about using it for card bases and banners. If you missed my misting 101 technique video , please click on the link to catch it.  The organic blending of pigments that happened in this mini album utilized the techniques illustrated in the video.

VivianKehSandDollarMini_4The effect above was created using a new tool that I love, the Rollagraph from Clearsnap.  This one is a Jumbo Rollagraph in which a “Marbling” Wheel was inserted.  I love these more abstract patterns as I find that I use them much more frequently.  Here, it helped me create a slightly murky underwater world that is teeming with life!

VivianKehSandDollarMini_5On the back cover, I stamped a passing school of fish!

VivianKehSandDollarMini_6And for the pages (they don’t get any more basic than this), I went through my scraps and die cut them using the same “Big Ticket” die.

Thanks so much for stopping by today – I hope to see you over at the Sizzix blog!

-Vivian

10 thoughts on “Magic at Sea

  1. Lovely Vivian! Great idea to use the big ticket as a mini. I am so excited about the sea and sand dies. Fell in love with them at CHA in January. So many ideas in my head. Thanks, as always, for the inspiration.

  2. Beautiful project Vivian. The link to your misting techniques takes me to the Clearsnap page where there doesn’t seem to be any videos.

Leave a Reply

