Art and Craft

Misting 101: Gradients

Hello, my friends!  Although it was a bit quiet on my social media networks last week, I was actually quite busy.  Part of that time was spent researching a new play, laying down the bones of it.  Writing is such a solitary affair, and while the feeling I get when I’ve written something good is incomparable, the downside is long stretches of rather solitary time.  I do happen to be blessed with several furry collaborators, who work for free and are always ready to break for a little love session.  Well, Pupusa is, at least.  Mabu is getting just a tad grumpy in his old age, but I’ll love on him all the same.

Another good part of my week was spent in the studio experimenting with mists and their uses with die-cuts.  You’d be shocked at how much paper I went through.  But I try to make myself feel better by reminding myself that my work was small scale and was done with the goal of providing something fresh and new for you to watch and hopefully be inspired by.  In the midst of it all, I also crafted a card that I feel is one of my best this year.  Y’all might disagree when you see it in July, but I must say, it’s such a great feeling when something you create can provide you with such satisfaction and yet require no one else’s validation.  You know what I’m talkin’ about, right?

The garden lost out last week.  And the weeds are going nuts – would someone please point me to a good, affordable, healthy, organic, degradable, non treated mulch?!  I think everything at the big box nurseries has been treated.  I’m getting desperate.

OK,  back to my purpose in posting today.  I want to share with you that all my creative play has culminated in a few video tutorials for you.  One reveals today on the Clearsnap blog.

VivianKehStarrySkyCard_AGradients appeal to folks across the spectrum of crafty styles, and I discovered through experimentation that they work perfectly when you are trying to energetically fill the negative space of your die-cuts with beautiful hues but you also want to maintain the integrity of shapes and letters in those die-cuts.What I’m really most excited about is how quickly I was able to create this gradient and how little one needs in the way of tools to make it.

I hope you will stop by the Clearsnap blog to see more shots and of course, the video!  Thanks so much for stopping by.

-Vivian

SUPPLIES -
Clearsnap:
Clearsnap Smooch Spritz 0.37 Fluid Ounce, Gold Glow
Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Sea Kiss
Clearsnap Smooch Spritz 0.37 Fluid Ounce, Vanilla Shimmer
Smooch Spritz: Navy Twinkle
Sizzix:

OTHER:
Pro-Art Strathmore Bristol Vellum Paper Pad, 9 by 12-Inch, 20 Sheets
Coarse Kosher Salt

9 thoughts on “Misting 101: Gradients

  1. Love this card and I am definitely headed over to Clearsnap. My suggestion for weed mulch would be to contact a tree service or landscape contractor that may use a stump grinder or a chipper and you can get fresh wood ( can you tell that this is our business here in the Pacific NW?).

    • thank you for the advice, barb! i will try to find someone here. do you know if there are smaller scale wood chippers? I would love to be able to chip what I prune off trees.

  2. Hi Vivian! I can’t seem to find the video that shows how this card is made.Can you tell me where I need to go to see it. Love ALL of your beautiful artwork!

Leave a Reply

