Art and Craft

A New Favorite

Hello, my friends!  I apologize I’m not around as much this month.  The deadline for the play that I’ve been commissioned to write is approaching ahhhh!  While it is coming along, I am spread a little thin this month.  But hey, I’m not complaining at all.  Life is so funny sometimes – theatrically, I struggled for decades while pounding the pavement and finding a way to survive.  Then when I left Los Angeles, opportunities starting falling into my lap.  And truthfully I wasn’t even trying anymore!  Maybe the universe is trying to tell me something.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to.  I will have a few crafty posts to share with you next week, but for now, I’d like to share with you a few projects of mine that have just been published in the newest issue of CREATE Magazine from Scrapbook Generation.  I was especially pleased with the card I crafted for this issue – it’s one of my favorites so far this year.  And it was derived from a sketch!  Yeah, I know, you’re saying, “Vivian never works with sketches!”  Go figure.

1VivianKeh

I hope you’ll click the link to the magazine and check out all the inspiration provided by the staff and our Sizzix design team in July’s issue.

For this card I used lovely nature themed dies from Sizzix paired with newly released Colorbox Spritzers from Clearsnap, all linked in the supply list below.  Once you’ve flipped through, stop back and let me know how you like the magazine!

SUPPLIES:


Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Grasshopper
Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Mermaid
Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Frosted Plum
Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Lemon Drop
Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Putty
Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Pumpkin Pie
Clearsnap Fluid Chalk Cat’s Eye Inkpad, Yellow Ochre

18 thoughts on “A New Favorite

    • thank you, gina! that’s is such a great observation – i was excited about it because there’s a fair share of media in it, but such a substantial amount of white space that it kind of goes toward CAS.

  1. I love it! It looks awesome, the contrasting color of the sea horses, the sand dollars, and the texture from sewing! Bravo to your projects being in the magazine too!

  2. Another stunning work of art. Great colors and texture. Love the intertwining of the tails. Good luck on your play preparation.

  3. The whole card layout and theme is just gorgeous but as I look closely at it the white paper looks flawless! How do you not bend, rub, touch, smudge it to keep it so crisp and clean. Whatever you do this card creation is just beautiful! I agree you should have a online display of your works.

    • thank you, dottie! so much white space, right?! i think because all the media work was done on individual elements, which then dried, and which were then adhered. oh and i try to post pix in albums on my fb page (link at top), and i’m on pinterest, too. hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

