Art and Craft / Gardening

Charting the Harvest with a Garden Journal

Hello, my friends!  I’m just about finished with the first draft of the play that I’ve been working on whoopee!  My sister arrives tomorrow to visit me for a nice stretch.  I’m looking forward to a lot of relaxing and healthy activities together.   And I’m also excited that she will make it just in time to enjoy the last of our summer’s harvest!   Speaking of harvests,  I have learned so much from the experience of gardening the last few seasons – the movement of the sun, where the soil needs some nutrition, what the pollinators like, and what works here and what doesn’t.  In addition, I’ve been reading like a fiend on various subjects having to do with garden. And the last few weeks, I was also fortunate enough to be able to take a class on fruit tree care offered by the Master Gardeners in my county.  The big garden news here?  Three dwarf cherry trees will be joining our family in the spring!

I’ve been meaning to make myself a garden journal that will hold all my handouts and notes, actual harvest dates for my micro-climate, which veggies I want to grow again, and notes on the process of transforming our front lawn to a water-wise landscape.  The thought I’ve had recently – why aren’t more people using their front yards for food production?  I mean, what a waste of space and money!  The grass sucks so much water and that makes our water bills skyrocket.  If I had my way, I really would put in as many fruit trees as would fit, but hubbie and I are working out a compromise haha!  I’m going to devote a portion to succulents, throw in a bunch of lavender plants that I started from seed, invest in a few drought tolerant nitrogen fixing shrubs as well as a few salvias for the bees.  Planning on adding some more economical seed-started stuff in the spring.  And at that time, ideally I’ll be able to put in a few tidy dwarf citrus trees since I know that they do well here and that we will definitely love eating the fruits!

So today I’d like to share with you my garden journal.  I started out by gessoing a few pieces saved from a cardboard box.

VivianKehGardenJournal_1Then I die-cut some honeycomb shapes using a scrap piece.

VivianKehGardenJournal_2These hexagons (1 1/2 in. sides) were then edged with a coordinating pigment ink.

VivianKehGardenJournal_3I misted the covers lightly.

VivianKehGardenJournal_4 Then decoupaged the hexagons to the covers…

VivianKehGardenJournal_5Which were grunged up a bit with some stamping and a gelato in my favorite hue.

VivianKehGardenJournal_6Awhile ago, I used up a full pad of mixed media paper and saved the stiff backing for a project like this one!  I die-cut this beautiful bee with that sturdy piece of chipboard, and then covered it with watermark ink…

VivianKehGardenJournal_7Heat embossing it a shimmering gold.

VivianKehGardenJournal_8Before assembling, I added some hot glue work for softer organic patterns that would contrast with the hard edges of my honeycomb.

VivianKehGardenJournal_AAbove is the front of the journal.  I bit of marker was used to make the honeycomb shapes pop.   Below you can see the simpler back.

VivianKehGardenJournal_BFinally, I sanded the edges to accentuate the texture of the corrugate.

VivianKehGardenJournal_C

Thanks so much for stopping by today – if it’s summer where you are, I hope you are able to savor these last of its lazy days.  I’ve been so busy, I’m looking forward to some time to unwind!

-Vivian


Clearsnap Colorbox Embossing Powders, Gold
Top Boss Watermark Full Size Inkpads
Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Frosted Plum
Clearsnap ColorBox Spritzers, Pumpkin Pie
Smooch Spritz Pearlescent Accent Sprays, Black Velvet
USA Wholesaler – 11006293 – Smooch Spritz .37 Fluid Ounce-Copper
ColorBox 6-Color Pigment Inkpad, Balloons

14 thoughts on “Charting the Harvest with a Garden Journal

  1. I totally with you! We moved to a house last summer when we did not have a chance to work out the backyard because we sold the apartment and bought a house, Packing and unpacking in the whole summer …. until Christmas month. This year, my hubbie planted fruit trees and veggies, lots and lots of them, we are so thrilled with the harvest.
    Love love love your journal covers, can’t wait to see all the pages inside, I am sure they will be packed with notes and photos, Enjoy reunion with your sister, Looking forward the journal.

  2. I’m sure that you will enjoy putting notes in your journal just as much as you did creating it. Have a great time with your sister. Congratulations on finishing the first draft of your play.

  3. Although I am not a gardener, I salute you and your interest and your beautiful artistic work. I really enjoyed seeing how you put it together. Thanks so much

  4. Perfect little garden journal. The bee looks fab all gilded up. I so admire your efforts in the garden. All your plans sound wonderful. Congrats on finishing the play. Have a wonderful, relaxing time with your sister.

  5. My goodness! What a wonderful use of what some consider scraps…and I’ve never seen hot glue used to add texture and interest. Inspiring!

  6. I hope you will share some of your journal entries. The covers are great and I just love the bee die. Have a great visit with your sister.

  7. Pingback: Saturday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #ArtJournal | lifeimitatesdoodles

Leave a Reply

