Uncategorized

“Shelter”

Since the Las Vegas sun beats down upon us at times so viciously, the tomatoes do well with a bit of canopy. Since we didn’t have the opportunity to build anything this past summer, mine faltered during the hottest part of the season.  The ones that were well sheltered from the sun by a shield of leaves fared best.   Yet as temperatures have cooled, they have sprung back to life.  The bush has grown large and full and in order to get a good view of which ones are ripe for picking, I must bend down and get underneath it.

I’m constantly in the garden ready to receive inspiration.  I’ve been thinking about this painting for a few weeks.  I’m going to call it, “Shelter,” and if I can transform what I see as an error into something beautiful, the original will still go to my mother. I was watching an instructional DVD from Stephen Quiller that I had taken out of my local library. It reminded me of a technique my last teacher also taught me but I hadn’t used in awhile –  that I can use my palette knife to create a fine white line immediately after laying down paint.  Well… that didn’t happen.  Unfortunately, what I’ve got is a thick green line that draws the eye in a big way.  So I’m thinking that if rubbing it out with a Mr. Clean sponge doesn’t work, I may turn to my gouache (I’m really aching for a set of good gouache colors.  All I’ve got is white).  I’m also going to make the painting more muted. Not comfortable with all the brights. Perhaps dunk the whole thing to soften some lines. Here are a few progress shots.  Hope I can finish before my trip – so psyched to see my family and share with them all the joy I’ve been feeling.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on ““Shelter”

  1. Hello, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks
    fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing
    blog!

Leave a Reply

