Uncategorized

Priceless

I adore my mother.  Warts and all.  Adore.  She’s one of those people loved by all who meet her.  Her infectious laugh, her deep capacity to love and forgive, her vulgar sense of humor are just a few of the many qualities she possesses which I hope have rubbed off on me.  Since I left home for college, which was over 15 years ago, I’ve only been able to return home for holidays, usually totalling no more than a few weeks per year.  As she holds the sweetest spot in my heart, this scarcity of time spent with her has been a sad circumstance of my life. But, the life circumstances are transforming beautifully, and I’m hoping to see her frequently in her golden years. 

We had been speaking on the phone a few weeks ago and she began crying (she’s become even more emotional in the last few years) because it had been too long that she hadn’t seen me.  Little did she know I had already arranged to fly to Florida as a surprise for her 76th birthday party.  Her tears nearly caused me to spill the beans, but I’m glad I didn’t. 

Yesterday, after everyone had sat down to eat at the aforementioned party, I casually walked into the restaurant and said, “I want to sit next to Rama!”  Rama is my nickname for her. After about 2 seconds of complete confusion – a priceless thing of beauty unfolded before me. 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Precious.  I will scrapbook this asap and when I’m feeling courageous, I’m going to try my hand at some portraits using these as reference.  I’ll be laughing about this one for a long time.

FYI, the birthday card which I made features an adorable paper from Jillibean Soup.  These are the tops of spools of thread – such a happy pattern.  When I get back into town, I’ll include the name and collection.

One thought on “Priceless

  1. Dear Viv,
    What a wonderful surprise it must have been for your mother.. She looks a very nice, gentle and kind mon.. I hope we can enjoy our mothers for a very long time to come (my mom was 86 last august), they are precious treasures that only as we get mature we seem to appreciate more…
    Thank you for sharing the beautiful pictures.
    Love and light always..x

Leave a Reply

