Uncategorized

Christmas Cards, First Batch

Just wanted to share some cards that I’ve made for all the loved ones in my life this Christmas!  Wow – there is a bunch of folks I adore that I’ve lost touch with over the years because I got so caught up in the business of life and survival.  I’m so excited about reaching out to them, finally feeling like I’ve got the space in my life to do it!

I frequently visit this site, Card Positioning Systems, for a jumpstart on my cardmaking process.  Their sketches really get the creative juices going when the compositions on my cards start to feel stale.  Their Sketch #247 inspired the following designs.

My fav of this batch

For the card above, I used a good deal of Fiskars – the Fiskars Snowflake texture plate to emboss the background and Fiskars Season’s Greetings Cling Stamp Set for the sentiment.  Love working in white and achieving interest with just TEXTURE! The matte of the papers, the sheen of the buttons, and the roughness of the burlap ribbon all combine nicely, I think. I may also adore this card because the sentiment perfectly expresses how I feel these days!!!

made with patterned paper from Crate Paper

Love the candied pattern here from Crate Paper! I realize that it packs a punch and I think it will serve well as an accent in Christmas scrapbooking and cardmaking. Will be using more of it in the next batch of cards.

In the card below, I pulled out my Dot embossing folder from Provocraft.

This tool is so useful – if you’re on a budget, I’d suggest getting it – you’ll use it for your projects again and again.

Embossed Dots

I’m really enjoying making custom paper with single sets of stamps.  The clear stamps I used below from the Hero Arts Buttons Set are another staple in my collection – so cute and can be used for a variety of occasions.  Such a steal when you think about how much use you’ll get out of these!

Custom Patterned Paper with Hero Arts Stamp Set

I picked up a stamp set from Michael’s, their Recollections brand, for the sentiment.  Twine was 75% off at Aaron Brothers! Yeah boyee!

For the last card in this batch, I used a leaf patterned paper from SEI’s Dill Blossom collection and hand-stamped the snowflakes using a single wood-mounted stamp I picked up from Tim Holtz and the Flurry clear set from We R Memory Keepers. Inks were Jenni Bowlin and Memento. Sentiment was from the pack used in the previous card displayed.

Inspired by Kristina Werner!

I frequently watch Kristina Werner’s video’s on youtube.  The layout above was inspired by a recent video of hers! Designing with patterned papers is tricky, and not only does she have great tips, she introduces me to some interesting products as well. Love her cute style!

That’s it for now.  Next post will be an update on my doggie sweater making extravaganza! My chunky cocker, Mabu, gets a chunky cabled sweater haha!

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cards, First Batch

    • yo yo yo! or should i say ho ho ho! thanks for commenting on my blog! and everyone, please visit feng shui sarasota’s website – so much to learn from her and i think you can totally incorporate these philosophies into your projects!

Leave a Reply

