Uncategorized

Rejection —-> Transformation Boyeee!

In my most recent post and crafting video, I talked about submissions, contests, challenges, etc. as a means to stimulate your creative mind.  Well, recently, I did submit to a well-loved papercrafting magazine.  BTW, a card a made awhile back will be published in their May/June 2012 issue – yay!  I will share with you that despite some major effort over many days, my most recent submissions were not selected.

The most awesome aspect of this result is that I’m totally unfazed!  I loved every minute of the creative process and am so thankful that something as minimal as a submission call for cards stimulated so much creativity!  Wow – what if I could carry this rather fearless attitude into other areas of my life in which I could face rejection or possibly fail?!  I’m going to give it a try.

I’m telling you guys, this crafting “thang” has got the potential to TRANSFORM!

Anyway, in my last crafting video: Gratitude Friday – Getting Intimate With Your Paper

I talked about getting out into nature, even if it’s simply a walk around the block, and opening your eyes just a bit wider to all the inspiration nature has to offer.  I’ve been having a ball incorporating real, natural elements into my mini canvases.  For the aforementioned submission call, I made a funky bloom out of feathers that I had harvested following some duck quibbling that had gone on at my favorite pond.

It was so much fun playing with this airy, soft element that I made another card with feathers for a Moxie Fab Challenge going on right now!

Full Frontal haha!

Its vintage feel made it a good candidate for Create’s current challenge, too!

My cousin had recently requested a doggie collar like the ones I hand-stitched for Pupusa and Mabu. Much of my stuff is in boxes still, even though we moved last July!  I finally found my sewing machine and whipped one up for her – apparently it was a hit. Doesn’t Pupusa look mahvelous in hers?

La Pupusa Loca!

So the sewing machine is now out and in constant use on my cards.

Detail of my funky bloom

In the detail below, you can see more leaves I gilded using my Lacquered Leaves Technique in my most recent video!

Lacquered Leaves Technique shown on the video link!

The sentiment is one to which I often turn that comes from my beloved Hampton Art footlong set!

Texturzzzzzzzzzz!

In the shot above, you can see the combination of all the textures in the card.  LURVE TEXTURE!

SUPPLIES LIST:
Cardstock: Vintage Cream – PTI, Kraft – Recollections
Patterned Papers: A Beautiful Life, My Mind’s Eye
Sentiment Stamp – Thank You Set, Hampton Art
Inks:
Copper Pigment Ink – Colorbox,
Tea Dye  and Dusty Concord Distress Ink – Tim Holtz

Labels 9 Die Template – Spellbinders
Heart Punch – Marvy Uchida
Glossy Accents – Ranger
Feathers – FOUND!
Leaves – FOUND!

That’s all for now, bloggers.  Enjoy your weekend!

3 thoughts on “Rejection —-> Transformation Boyeee!

  1. Hi Contadina! I love how you incorporated nature into your project. The feathers tucked in around the hearts are fantastic. Just goes to show you can be inspired anywhere you go if you take the time to really look around and see things. Thanks for checking out Paper Craft Nut and welcome aboard!

  2. Hey Vivian! Thanks for linking this up to the Fascination with Feathers Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

