Uncategorized

Get Your Crafty Mojo Goin’ On!

Hey there everyone!  Quick crafting post today  with a little nature tucked in at the end. As I was surfing the net recently, I visited one of my fav crafting sites for inspiration – Moxie Fab World!  They always post beautiful photos and get your creative mojo goin’ on!  Right now, they have a couple of great challenges going on , one of them asking for the use of household items.

I’ve always been really big on upcycling and innovating with what you’ve got.  My last video is all about looking at what you have with fresh eyes: Gratitude Friday: “One Stamp, Three Ways.”

I’m often asking my higher power to help me use more and hoard less haha!  So my videos often herald any upcycling ideas I am blessed with. The card below uses torn up egg cartons to create a granite effect.

Faux Granite Card

Close up it’s pretty cool – this was an egg carton, guys!

Detail shot of Faux Granite Card

This green gives a mossy feel.  In the vid for this particular card, I explain what types of materials I used to create this effect. Come on over to the tube and take a look! If you like what you see, subscribe to my channel there and here on my blog – I promise I’m always brainstorming new ideas to share with you!

Another detail shot of Faux Granite Card

By leaving a few edges raised, it gives a feeling of rock slabs.

I think you could use this particular technique on a variety of projects!

One more shot!

Satin ribbon is a nice contrast to the rough texture of the faux granite.

So I’m submitting this one for the DIY Embellishments Challenge over at Moxie Fab!

I’m also submitting this one below, the result of yet another recent upcycling adventure – this gorgeous flower made from the plastic bag that my newspaper comes in.

Patterned Papers from Basic Grey!!! Lurve Basic Grey!!!

Here’s a detail of the flower…

Beauty crafted from a plastic bag!

To see how this was made, go here!

Thanks for looking, y’all.

CONTADINA NEWS: my lovely garden was subject to some intense winds a day or so ago, so the few eggplant seedlings I had put out didn’t survive.  Good thing I’ve got a few more that I’m still nurturing under grow lights.  Marseille basil, Lime basil, and mammoth basil popped out of their tiny casings almost immediately – gonna be making some posh aromatic cocktails with these suckers!  Pink salvia also poked out of their seeds almost immediated.  Blue salvia is taking its time.  Double click cranberry cosmos is also very happy!  Psyched to share the photos with you as these babies mature.

That’s it for now – must nurse my little Pupusa back to health.

My poor baby 😦

She’s been keeping me up all night for the past few days, and this morning was met with some unfortunate accidents – I won’t share the details.

12 thoughts on “Get Your Crafty Mojo Goin’ On!

  1. LOVE the faux granite look – really cool. And I also really love the flower on the 2nd card made from a plastic bag. I don’t have a cutter but it’s awfully inspiring to get one. (I’m sure that’s not the right word). We had very large die cutters at the elementary school when I was a teacher – the little one is so cool and so many possibilities! Thanks for sharing your beautiful, artful cards!

    • Thanks, biggsis! Keep your eyes open for sales at your local craft store – I’ve seen the Sizzix Big shot on sale for about $50-. I also shop a ton on Joann’s online. They have more of a selection than the physical store.

  2. Wow! really interesting. Love the faux granite!! So effective. TFS. The flower is amazing. From an old bag….Who would think it!! Thanks for sharing all the links. Hope your little dog is better soon. Awrrrr! poor thing.
    Regards Florence x

    • Thanks, Florence! I’m really enjoying all that you share on your blog, too! Re. my little Pupusa – she’s started putting a bit of weight on the bad leg. Stitches come out Monday!

  3. Hey Vivian! Thanks for linking this up to the DIY Embellishments Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

