Uncategorized

Find Your “Thing!”

Since my cardmaking habit took on a life of its own a few years ago, I have adored the Weekly Warehouse Walks presented by Two Peas in a Bucket on youtube.  The ladies over there are adorable, and these days, it seems the lovely Kitty has taken the reigns of “The Walks.”  In this weekly video series, an uber-sweet rep walks you through all the new merchandise at the warehouse, and in the last few videos, including Personal Shopper with Jamie, Hampton Art products have been featured!

Way back when, my man would always tease me because I’d eagerly eat up these videos before bed.  I swear, though, despite the teasing, out of the corner of his eye, he was watching them, too!  I’m so lucky that he’s willing to listen to me babble on about crafting.  He now knows much more about crafting than he ever thought possible haha!  As you know if you’ve watched any of my videos, I am sometimes in disbelief at how much I can talk about crafting!

When I’m on the lookout for hot, new product, there are a few reasons my first stop is 2P’s.

1)They’ve kept their free shipping at $50, while others either never ship free, or have recently raised their minimum for free shipping – Lame… O!

2)Two Peas in a Bucket also has a customer loyalty program – once you spend a certain amount, you get a bit of a discount on all your regularly priced merchandise.  Since I’m always on the lookout for new product that speaks to me and that I can share with you, this is a great program for me and one I’ll stick with for the foreseeable future.

3) The browsing experience on their site is easy, user-friendly.  And the tabs are organized well.  When you add to your cart, you can stay on the page where you’ve been browsing rather than have to return there from your shopping cart.  Online shopping here thus becomes less of a hassle, and I think was really a smart move on their part. Whoever designed their site – good job!   Bottom line, though – if the first two boons weren’t in place,  I’d still muddle through a painful shopping experience for a good bargain.  If other vendors had the same policies/set-up, I’d purchase from them more regularly, as well.  But as far as I know, they don’t.

I’ve been so inspired that I’m going to start an occasional “Wednesday Warehouse Walk,” of my own carefully chosen acquisitions!  Keep your eyes open for that!  My videos can be found here!

I must not forget to share with you that I am, and will probably always be, a huge fan of Michael’s and Joann’s.  When I enter these stores, I feel as if I’ve died and gone to crafting heaven haha!  Fellow crafters, you know what I’m talkin’ about! They provide much of the foundation of my crafting stash, and the bargains, especially when I’ve got my coupons in hand, are to die for!  This is where I go for various tools, always scouring the shelves for a good Bigz die.  I think I’m set on all my blooms…

but right now I’m in deep deep contemplation over some tag dies (I hope you can hear how NOT seriously I take myself here).  Gonna make me some tagzzzzz!

Speaking of Bigz, you must check out the most recent Sizzix “I Spy Saturday” post!  Read through to the end because a project of mine is featured – yay!  I can’t tell you what a nice surprise it was to open my email from Sizzix and see my card there!  This past weekend, I found a blog called, “Find Your Thing,” and am psyched to be getting some inspiration there from now on! Love the name of this blog – check it out!  The reason I mention it is because gosh darnit, it is so important to FIND YOUR THING!  That activity which you do all by yourself but during which you feel entirely complete, that thing which takes you to “the zone,” which gives you peace, which clears your head and simplifies your life.  And once you find it, do it every day, if only for a few minutes.  It will feed your soul, it will make you better, and you will ultimately exude the type of energy that folks want to be around.

For me, time spent gardening, painting, walking outside on a gorgeous day, crafting a card for someone I love, these are my “thangz,” and I am so profoundly thankful 1) that I found them, 2) that I can do them, and 3)  that I can appreciate the opportunity.  And wow, in the doing of your thing, you will meet so many great people and countless beautiful and unexpected doors will open for you!  Trust me!

The last post was mostly pix of my spectacular Black Knight Iris.

Black Iris

Ooh she’s given me quite a show!  This post, words words words.  So here’s one pic of my Mr. Lincoln rose, a gift from a former student that I brought with me ants and all 😦 when I moved to Vegas.  She’s just come into bloom.

Mr. Lincoln Rose has begun to bloom!

I don’t know if you can see in the background – I’ve been attempting to strategically place pots and branches around the garden so that dang neighborhood cat doesn’t poop in it!  It’s not working…So far this rose is very happy in her new home, out of a restrictive pot and into the ground, which, by the way, required some major rock sifting by Contadina K!  She anchors one end of a small garden path that I am literally packing with a mix of produce and flowers.  If you want a piece of the spectacular action to come, subscribe right here!

This is what I did with the beet greens I harvested this weekend, featured in yesterday’s post.

Whole Grain Pasta with Beet Greens, Garbanzos, a splash of balsamic, and liberal sprinkling of parmeggiano!

Simple pleasures, guys!  That’s what it’s all about.

3 thoughts on “Find Your “Thing!”

  1. I’m so happy you found my blog and felt inspired enough to pass it along to your readers. You and my wife would make great friends–you could spend afternoons in Michael’s and Joann’s together! Knitting and crocheting are her “things.”

    I look forward to reading more from you.

  2. Thank you for visiting my blog and for your kind comment. Crafting is so much fun and once you have been bitten by the bug the possibilities are endless 🙂
    I enjoyed browsing your blog.

  3. I came to the page because of the gorgeous purple card – wonderfully abundant! and was rewarded with a purple iris as well. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

