Uncategorized

Silhouettes Oh How I Love You!

If you read my last post, you might be expecting a tutorial today. Sorry folks, I just realized I need to wait on that as it is part of my DT submission for Hampton Art this month. They will post the tutorial on their blog May 1st, so keep your eyes peeled, or go over there and follow them so you don’t miss it!

I did have an opportunity to play with some Prima papers that I picked up at the new Hobby Lobby in my hood!  Boy, do they make it easy to infuse your projects with nostalgia!  I’ve been dying to get my hands on some silhouette stamps, too.  And on this visit to Hobby Lobby, I couldn’t resist – I even paid full price for a Glitz stamp set with the silhouette below, which I rarely do.  This here be the queen of coupons haha!

Anyway, a bit of distressing, a bit of floral lovin’, some spritzing with my new favorite spritz, SMOOCH!!!, a tiny bit of fussy cutting and voila!

Silhouette Card

Over on Laura Bassen’s blog, she shows how to make this bloom – hers is very clean and there are a few cut paper pieces in the center.  She has such a clean, fresh style that threads through her work.  I really wanted to use this button for this card, so I omitted that part and shabbified it a bit – great technique!

Handmade Flower

I’m going to give Stamp Man a go with this one – this week it’s Shabby or Distress!

Silhouette Detail

I’ve been playing around with my new Hampton Art/Doodlebug Stamp Set SC0474 – check out the HA blog to see more deliciousness from them – working on my CAS!  If you don’t know, CAS stands for Clean and Simple – a challenge for me.  So here goes with CAS-ual Friday’s current challenge based on a cute sketch!

Heart Patches Card

And a detail –

Heart Patches Detail

I am so in love with that Heart Patch stamp that comes in the set!  I should have gotten all the stamps they make with Hampton Art – they’re adorable!

And another attempt!  In the card below, the sentiment came from HA/Doodlebug Stamp Set SC0473 and their Border Cling Set IC0160.

For my former student, Rosa!

Love kraft and my frost white pigment ink – it always is a good thing!

Happy Birthday Detail

Well that’s all for today, folks!  Have a great weekend!  It’s supposed to hit the 90’s here in Vegas – ahhhh!  This flower will be wilting!

21 thoughts on “Silhouettes Oh How I Love You!

  1. Love this card Vivian, the papers are fabulous and the silhouette and flower are gorgeous.
    If it’s 90 now in Vegas what is it gonna be like in August when I come over to visit you beautiful country?
    Thanks for sharing this with us at The Stamp Man.
    Have a wonderful weekend.
    hugs {brenda} xox

  2. Gorgeous cards!! Such a fun take on our sketch and the twine is a fun addition-really ‘ties’ it together! *sorry, couldn’t resist the pun :)* Glad you played with us at CAS-ual Fridays!

  3. A great top card. Loving that flower and your paper choice for it. Fits your card design so well. Your CIS cards are fab too. thanks for joining us at The Stamp Man this week and ahve a great day. Angela

  4. Beautiful silhouette card! I don’t have any silhouette stamps yet, but there is a local craft store going out of business that is having a huge sale starting next week…maybe I’ll find one there! 🙂

    • Thanks, Suzanne! The first comes more naturally to me. I think non card makers would be surprised at how difficult the CAS can be – quite a challenge for me! Aren’t those patches cute – Doodlebug stamps, and I got that set in particular for that adorable patch!

  5. Wow! You’ve been a very busy girl!! I adore each and every project, especially the project with the patch hearts – super cute!! I can see why it’s your fave! Thanks so much for playing with us at CAS-ual Fridays! We’re so glad you did!

  6. Wonderful cards, I love the flowers and the tied button. Thanks for the link to how to make them, I shall have to give them a try.
    Thank you for joining our Shabby / Distressed challenge over at The Stampman.
    hugs Kimx

Leave a Reply

