Uncategorized

Long Time, No Blog!

Wow – I can’t believe how long it’s been since I last blogged. A solo road trip to Los Angeles left me with a bittersweet feeling, and although I tried to write about it, I think I’m still processing all the feelings and experiences because the piece feels far from finished. On the drive out, my heart felt open, strong, receptive. But peppered throughout my visit back to the old ‘hood were intense moments of sadness, anxiety, and loneliness that I have yet to be able to explain to myself. So that one will sit in the draft pile for now and may show up at some point.
But folks, I have not been idle since my return! I’d like to share with you some layouts I’ve been doing.  I’m primarily a cardmaker, but my scrappy friend, Carrel, came over three days in a row to scrap with me and we had a layout marathon! We are scrappin’ muthazzzzzzz haha! After she left, I just kept going, and over the past week or so, I’ve completed the following projects!

BIrthday Dinner at the Venetian in Vegas!

We ate a seafood tower here, which was as extravagant as Vegas itself!  I used Little Yellow Bicycle’s “Saturdays” collection – the casual feeling suits our style as a couple.  This pic documents a rare moment in which both of us dressed up.  Details.

Jute and candy button from my haul in downtown LA’s fashion district, baby!

In love with banner shapes right now.

Embellies placed in an organic arrangement.

And a card with the scraps.

Beautiful Times Vintage Card

Beautiful Times Detail

I have also don a ton of scrapping of pets over the last week. For these, I stuck with Basic Grey papers and something new for me – I bought a bunch of coordinating embellishments which I usually forgo and make by hand.  Wow – they sure do speed the process of scrapping a page.  For the first, I changed one letter in the overly used sentiment and it became perfectly dog appropriate.

Eat Play Love

I’m telling you, dogs can teach us so so much about how to love life.

Chipboard elements and letters – ahhhh!

These embellies were so worth their minimal price.  All PB & J Collection.

Sizzix Tag Die

I used my Layered Tag Die from Sizzix to make these hidden journaling spots.  A little gloss on the heart shape and voila!

I had to document the six weeks prior to my road trip because of how trying they were.  After Pupusa’s surgery, I nearly lost my mind trying to keep her from jumping around.  Our relationship went way way beyond dysfunctional and she quickly learned how to manipulate mommy.

Those are some big, soulful eyes right there.

Peg Leg Pupusa Detail

The Prima flower is nice and casual, like the PB & J line.

Peg Leg Pupusa Detail

I wish I could remember where I saw these pie shapes online – totally scraplifted that idea.

Peg Leg Pupusa Detail

Lovely lovely papers, ones I will use until they are all gone.

Here is one just of my little princess, Pupusa.  If you can see the pic, she really is living in the moment, savoring the odors carried on the wind.  I love watching her when she does that.

This Moment

I’ve blogged about it before.  This sentiment is a truth I work very hard to live by.

My princess

This behavior depicted above reminds me that within each moment, there is such a wealth of joy, peace, satisfaction and knowledge.  I learn so much from my dogs and I’m so grateful for them!

Embellies

The Basic Grey collection that I used for this LO is called “Serendipity,” according to my research available only at Joann’s.  And scrappers, it’s heavily discounted right now.  Bring in your coupons so you can get all the papers and embellies at 60% off. I also used some buttons that matched perfectly.  And once again, I reached for my Martha Stewart flower punch to add a bit of fluffy texture!

Finally, I was inspired by Shimelle over at Two Peas in a Bucket to scrap myself.  I think it will be valuable in the future to revisit where I was mentally, spiritually, and perhaps, if kiddies one day are a part of the picture, they might like to see as well.

A Dog Pile

I must have been a dog in my past life.  Hey, ya gotta give me some cred as with the intent of making you smile, I’m willing to post a pic of myself at a rather unattractive moment.  Simple design, huge space for a lot of journaling.

A Dog Pile Detail

I picked up some seam binding on the aforementioned haul and found the dark color grounded the composition a bit.

Sizzix/Holtz die

This is my new fav die – totally folksy and adorable.  I used it to cut up an old box as well as papers, glued them together, and then coated the small heart with Glossy Accents.  If you can see the journaling, this period of life has been characterized by REST haha!  My sister laughed when she saw this pic, asking, “Where’s Jonathan?!”  Well he’s taking the picture of course!  Mabu has since been “asked” to sleep in his doggie bed on the floor, because he’s just too big and none of us were sleeping all that well.  I will lift him in to join us first thing in the morning, though.  And we will spend an undesignated amount of time doggie piling and doggie loving before starting our day.

So folks, it’s layout mania here in Vegas.  I can’t show you a 2 page spread that I did of my mom as that one is reserved for Hampton Art!  I took my time with that one – great opportunity to meditate on one of my favorite people in the whole world!  I’ll let you know when to look for that one.

Hope you have an amazing long weekend and that you will take time to thank the  courageous folks who have fought on our behalf.

2 thoughts on “Long Time, No Blog!

Leave a Reply

