Uncategorized

My Heart Swells

I’ve removed various shots from this post as the layout is out for publication!  When it publishes, I will return the original photos.  Thanks for your patience.

Squeezed in a few minutes this weekend to finish this layout. The title had me stuck for a bit – adjectives abound for how I felt in this moment and how I continue to feel about life with my guy – serene, content, right and good. Finally I went with this one. Really pleased with how it came out and psyched about working in this spacious 12×12 format!

The bronzed embellishments were made with a relatively new product – Martha Stewart Craft Clay.

Martha Stewart Craft Clay

I pressed this lightweight material into silicone molds, removed, waited 24 hours, and then painted with Lumiere paints.

Lumiere Paint

First, metallic bronze, and then pearlescent white.

Highlights

I edged with some Tim Holtz Vintage photo before starting to arrange my LO.  Some luscious shots of the clustering and texture to follow!!!

Bark from the trees where this photo was taken, the pond where we walk our dogs every day, has begun to fall.  I was able to insert pieces into the LO for some interest.

I’ve started to use my wood buttons and tickets from the same Prima collection!!!  This was a smaller cluster I put on the right for balance.

This very simple trim was adhered at first with the supposedly strong red adhesive that comes in rolls – didn’t do the trick.  So I used hot glue in the end.

The embellishments I made captured the deeper tones in this gorgeous paper so nicely.  Still trying to figure out how I can best store layouts like this that have so much dimension – any tips very welcome at this point.

Simon Says Stamp is having a challenge about texture this week, so here goes!

9 thoughts on “My Heart Swells

  1. What a stunning page and wonderful tutorial! I’m going to have to check Michael’s for that MS Craft Clay! Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Thanks, Karen! Yes, I just started out with the white, as it can be painted. Opportunity to use those awesome Michael’s coupons we get in the mail! The Wilton silcone molds were great for this clay, too!

  2. Thank you so much for entering the SSS and S Challenge for this week, I think your project looks just great, love the Craft Clay from Martha Stewart, you did a great job decorating the picture. Wow Thank you for sharing. Hugs Terry xxx

  3. Your LO is stunning! I absolutely love the way your handmade bronze embellies look with the paper you chose. It’s so rich and vibrant. I also love your use of bark from the places you and your guy frequent. Beautiful work!

    • Hi Tracy! Thanks for the encouragement, scrappy friend! I love how Prima makes it so easy to lay in a rich feeling to projects. Gonna play around with the Lumiere some more, too. Looking forward to seeing more of your wonderful projects, too!

  4. Oooo! This is gorgeous. The design flows beautifully. Love all the of the embellishments especially the handmade ones. Such lovely inspiring ideas. TFS.
    Regards Florence xx

    • Thanks, Florence! Handmaking the embellishments was so much fun and am happy they ended up working well with the LO. But I had to exert patience because there was so much waiting in between steps haha and I just wanted to start glueing!

  5. Pingback: Sizzix Projects by Moi Featured at Aussie Scrap Source! | contadina k

Leave a Reply

