Uncategorized

Scrapping for My LSS

Those of you who’ve followed me here for awhile know that I’m on the design team for a great LSS, Scrapbook Island.  While I have some beloved online vendors, there really is no equivalent to the learning and camaraderie that results from interacting with friendly, knowledgeable staff and peers at a good LSS.  I’m so grateful to have this experience with one of the very best LSS’s in the country, and I hope that we will be able to move to our permanent home (five minutes from the shop) sooner than later.  For a few very important reasons, our move has been delayed, and I’m just trying to go with the flow.

Right now, I’m crafting “like a mutha,” as I know that in a few weeks, minor surgery will put me out of commission and unable to craft for a stint.  Until then, I’m loving life with my guy and have made some projects that I’m quite pleased with.  Did I show y’all my August projects for Scrapbook Island?

No photos, only mats, since the projects will be auctioned off for charity at the end of the year.  That was an interesting challenge because usually my whole process starts with the photos.  Great learning experience and ultimately makes me focus more on composition!  This LO used Crate Paper’s “Pretty Party” Collection, including stickers and embellishments.  I provided a long column for journaling as well, accenting with some 7 Gypsies stamps, and small mats on the left for photos.

In addition, I used the same supplies to make a card…

Do you recognize my Gingerbread technique?  And a tag…

Which was featured on Sizzix’s “I Spy Saturday” feature in August.

A bit of good news – my “Beautiful Grunge” card showed up on today’s “I Spy Saturday,” too!

Beautiful Grunge

When I saw the post, I couldn’t help but do a goofy happy dance which got the dogs  equally enthused lol!  Folks, I need to design for this company!

So I just finished a new project for Scrapbook Island for my September submissions.  A few more smaller projects I have yet to complete for them and then I’ll take a breather.  I’ll just give you a little sneak peak, and once the month is over, I’ll show you the full array of projects.

This LO uses My Mind’s Eye’s “The Sweetest Thing,” papers.   I made most of these embellies with my own with dies, mists, and my stash of buttons, did a bit of clustering and left quite a bit of white space!  Beautiful collection with nice blues, greys, and muted yellows – mmm mmm mmm!

I shall have more to share with you shortly!  Happy Labor Day Weekend!

Leave a Reply

