Uncategorized

Softer Than Before

Have I shared with y’all that I’ll be showcasing a new technique with a major vendor November 1st?  This opportunity has me made me very excited!  I’ll give you the deets as the date approaches!  While the layout that I’m sharing today has quite a different feeling, it uses some of the same basic techniques.  Since I want to save the tutorial for my November post, I won’t go into detail about how I made this layout.  But the key element with which I’ve been playing around quite a bit as of late is…. masking tape.  Good, old, CHEAP (love cheap) masking tape.

I was debating about whether or not to share this here.  It features my Dad, and my intent was to document how pleasantly surprised I’ve been that our relationship has moved in such a positive direction in the last few years.  But when all was said and done, I think some underlying sadness about the past made its way through the unconscious and onto the canvas, seriously influencing the the coloring and design.  Isn’t the mind incredible???!!!  I mean, what the heck?  It isn’t pretty!  I know a few publications that would just LOOOOOVE this one lol!

Stamps from Hampton Art’s new collections were used, chipboard elements that I die-cut with Sizzix, a metal embellishment from Tim Holtz, and a variety of mists and inks.

Here’s a close up of the effect.

Quite mixed media and while I’m flopping around making some pretty fugly projects as I hone those skillzzzzzz, I’m so excited to start moving in this direction.

Otherwise, on the crafty front, I’ve been playing quite a bit, challenges and so on and so forth.  But what I really need to do is get my crafty arse on schedule.  There are several upcoming deadlines, so as soon as I post this one, I’m on it!

I’m entering this LO in the current challenge at Simon Says Stamp, which is TAPE!  Hope you find some time this weekend to let go a little in whatever medium of expression you prefer.  Maybe you’ll learn something new about yourself in the process.

6 thoughts on “Softer Than Before

  1. Oh you are do funny. Yeah get that arse moving! I hear you! I need to keep on making!

    I love the project with you Dad! It is not fugly! It is art and what you felt.

    Congrats on the upcoming technique for the vendor!!!

    • Thanks, Patricia! Oh the fugly projects won’t be shown here – they are piling up in my craft room as I hone the skillzzzz lol! Knowing your incredible resume, you must be sooooooo prolific with your DT assignments. I’m such a slow poke!

  2. I love this LO. Not sure I understand your negative critique of it. Maybe you’re reading much more of your internal thoughts into it than we are. Looking forward to learning more.

    • Thanks so much, Jusa! I think this layout has a somewhat sad energy, but I like it! I will spare the blogosphere from having to see the ugly ones, which are piling up as I make improvements on my crafty skillzzzzz!

  3. I love that cool effect you got with the tape! Awesome. The butterflies look great and the canvas is gorgeous. Wonderful title and the ‘find’ word hanging from the one butterfly is such a great details. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show!

Leave a Reply

