Uncategorized

Projects on Display at Scrapbook Island

I’d like to share with you a few projects that I recently made for my LSS, Scrapbook Island, in San Jose.  “San Jose,” you may ask?  “But Vivian lives in Las Vegas, doesn’t she?”  We were supposed to move there earlier, and thanks to designteamcalls.com, I was able to make a connection with these amazing folks prior to the move.  Unfortunately, the move has been postponed because of my medical stuff.  So going with the flow, we are trying to enjoy as much of this crazy town as we can since we’re gong to be here a bit longer.  That means I will be cultivating some cool season goodies in the garden.  It also means we will enjoy… MORE GOOD FOOD!  Not glitzy strip stuff (well maybe once or twice).  I’m talking great, diverse, cheap, hole in the wall, eat in your t-shirt and sandals, cas (cazh) as pos yumminess.

Without further ado, I shall share with you my September projects that I crafted with My Mind’s Eye’s “The Sweetest Thing” Collection.  A layout…

Which I felt had some successful clustering.  The stencil is from The Crafter’s Workshop.

And a smaller cluster for balance, with a bit o’ ribbon wrapping.

I paper punched and die-cut almost all of these embellishments!  I made a card…

Those enamel dots from MME are quite nice.  And I also made a tag, allowing the beautiful patterns in the papers to do most of my work for me.

A detail of the focal image.

Do you recognize my favorite Hampton Art stamp?  I know I use it so much you’re probably sick of it already.  I’ll try to put it away for awhile.

*** Don’t forget, if you’re in the Bay Area, there will be a Scrap Pink Crop at the shop October 13th and 14th in which all the projects from our designers will be auctioned for Breast Cancer Research.  Check the Scrapbook Island Newsletter for details!

For October, I received a very different set of goodies – Graphic 45’s “Birdsong” papers, stickers, a bit of Zva Creative bling, some ribbons and stick pins from the shop, and an off-the-page item (exactly what shall remain a secret for now:-)).  This is my favorite G45 collection yet, bursting with Asian imagery, symbols, and calligraphy!  But I won’t lie to you.  I found the off-the-page item very challenging.  I sat and stared at that thing for-e-ver!  In the end, the challenge was good for the crafty muscles.

Normally, I wouldn’t mix too many rich patterns together in one project.  But when forced to do it, I was pleasantly surprised by how these bold patterns somehow all worked perfectly together.  I also loved that so many beautiful images were housed in one sheet.  If you cut them out, each of them makes a gorgeous focal image – a great value.

Here are my sneaks, and as October comes to a close, I’ll share the full projects.

See what I’m talkin’ about?  Look at that beautiful painting!  Wrapped the black organza on this project for what I call an “obi” effect!

The project above was, let’s say, a new experience.  But when all was said and done, I must say I had a hard time parting with it.  I think that had I kept it, I might have even dusted off the empty mantle to put it there.  Wait, we don’t have a mantle.  Actually, we don’t have any shelves anywhere in this house to display anything.  Oh well.

Another project in which the focal image was something I cut from one of these awesome sheets.  And lastly, a project which used one of the funkier, more modern sheets in the collection.

To play off the feeling I got from the paper, I made my own bloom with gelatos and a leaf punch – very easy.  While in this bloom, the ombre is subtle, I think that if you were to exaggerate the effect, you could create some psychedelic flowers!

Well, this week was surely blog post heavy, so after a weekend breather, I shall see you Monday!  Be well.

6 thoughts on “Projects on Display at Scrapbook Island

  1. All gorgeous projects, Vivian! You make really great flowers. I love the white tulle flower. Did you make that too? You really seem to be finding your groove. Hope the recovery is going well! Tracy:)

    • I love it when you stop by, Tracy 🙂 Yes, I received some fringed tulle in my DT box, and i just rolled it with hot glue and it added some texture! I had worked with G45 stamps before, but had felt somewhat intimidated by the bold papers. After this experience, I’m going to try some more. And thanks for checking on my stats – feeling much better and just about ready to start exercising again. With the way I eat, I HAVE to exercise haha!

      • Isn’t it great when you push yourself out of your comfort zone? I find that is when I make some of my best stuff – and surprise myself in the process! I also love G45 but have never had the pleasure of working with their papers or stamps. So many great tools and never enough money to buy them! LOL. Glad to hear you’re on the mend. Tracy:)

  2. You are so creative and your work is beautiful, and very inspiring.Thanks for sharing them with us. I also pray you are recovering well. Have a great day.

    • Thanks, Correna! And thank you for checking in on my health. I’m just now starting to feel like I can get back to exercising and normal life. Have a great weekend – hope it’s crafty!

Leave a Reply

