Uncategorized

My Heart is Bangin’ Against My Ribzzzz!

Hi there, folks!  I just have to share with you that a few individuals in the crafting industry just reached out to me and without giving you too much info just yet, I just have to share with y’all who so kindly follow me here that I believe I’m on the cusp of my proudest crafting collaborations of the year.  Not exaggerating one bit – this morning, my heart is beating so hard against my riiiiibzzzzz (at least that’s how it feels), I think it just may pop out my mouth haha!  I’m going to spend some time today planning how I want to celebrate this news.  Deep breath.

Onto other crafty matters.  I want to let you know that I have a funky card up on the Hampton Art Blog today!   Check it out if you have a sec’.  I’ll give a little detail shot here.

The card uses heat embossing techniques and my Faber-Castell Gelatos.  Originally, I made this card with a black base, which I felt was more striking.  But my guy gave me the keen insight that the connotation of a black heart might not go over so well with the recipient of the card.  So although I prefer it, that one shall sit in a box indefinitely.  Perhaps a younger goth type might like it.  Do I know any goths? :-/

Since I wrote that post, I picked up a full set of gelatos and have messed around with them a bit.

With a wider selection of colors, I was able to make a more subtle ombre effect with this bloom, which I thought went well with this more modern pattern in Graphic 45’s “Birdsong” collection.  I also clustered the leaves more tightly.

There’s another Hampton Art woodblock stamp that has some great abstract patterns and typography.  A lot of potential for mixed media that I’m still mulling over.  I made this little square card with a portion of the sizeable stamp and the same “Ombre Effect” you’ll see at the HA blog today.

This Sizzix butterfly was die-cut and gesso-ed and then spritzed with some purple Heidi Swapp Color Mist.

Before I sign off today, I want to share with you a card I just made yesterday using DCWV’s “Latte” stack.  I’ve been playing along with DCWV’s Stack-a-holic monthly challenges, (with some success!) and the best part is, my participation is helping me use up my embarrassingly large stash of papers and it’s gettin’ my crafty mojo goin’ on!  I really like how this card turned out.

And a close up.

Last month this project of mine below which uses the “Tradewinds” stack made the top ten.

And the month before, this project below using the “Homespun” stack also made the top ten.

If you’ve got some DCWV in your stash, try playing along this month.  They give you a sketch to get you started, too!  You still have a few more weeks to join in.  Check it out here!  I’ve found that just seeing what the variety of crafters out there are doing with all of the collections can make you look at what you have with fresh eyes.

Time for me to start preparing my new technique video for you!  A hint to get you excited – I will be using my mouth to create the effect!!! Titillating, no? HAHAHA!

11 thoughts on “My Heart is Bangin’ Against My Ribzzzz!

  1. Love the new Ombre Effects card you did on the Hampton Arts blog site! and all the other lovely cards as well! the colors and textures are awesome! Can’t wait to hear all about the good news!!! thnx for the inspiration!!

  2. It is so fun to see where your crafty talents are taking you. Such an inspiration! It makes me think other people are doing it, so with a little perserverence and hard work why not me! Big congrats to you, Vivian.
    Tracy:)

    • Thanks for your support, Tracy! It’s been precious getting to know you through our blogs! My goal is to someday be able to make a decent living doing what I love, so I’m just gonna keep on keepin’ on 🙂

    • Thanks, Julie! Yes, I’m really excited about the video, too. I will have to clear all my cardmaking stuff off the table because I’ll need space and the ability to make a bit of a mixed media mess 🙂

  3. I’m a recent admirer of your crafty talent, and have to say I also really appreciate the sincerity and honesty that come through your blogs. I think the more subtle tone of the Ombre coloring on the bloom is really congruent with the paper. Your use of the MS leaf punch in your layouts sent my scurrying to Michael’s with my coupons! Looking forward to more posts!
    Judy

    • Great to meet you here and thanks so much for your sweet compliments! Yes, I use that leaf punch on nearly EVERYTHING! Kudos for using your coupon, girlfriend! Totally worth it. fYI the coupons no longer apply towards dies… Dang it!

      • Happily, where I live in So CA, I had a Michael’s online 50% off MS items for this week only – can you believe it? Just had to share ’cause I never leave home without my coupons!

Leave a Reply

