Uncategorized

Handmade Holidays Blog Hop of All Hops!

Welcome to the 2nd Annual Handmade Holidays Blog Hop!!! Calling all crafters! We’ve gathered designers from some of our favorite manufacturers to show you ways to create something from the heart this holiday season. This 3 day Hop includes over 60 stops with inspiration brimming from every corner. Explore all of the thoughtful and frugal handmade gifts you could create for the holidays, all in one place, during our second annual Handmade Holidays Blog Hop!

To sweeten the Hop, we’re offering a gift for you! For every comment you leave on the blogs in the Hop, you’ll be entered to win a prize pack from one of the participating manufacturer sponsors!

Hampton Art will be offering three prize packages to three lucky hoppers.

That stamp set is too too cute!  And this prize package…

If y’all follow me here, you know the stamp set above is my FAVE!!!  And this prize package below.

Actually, this one is my FAVE, too 🙂

In order to increase your chances of winning, follow Hampton Art on Facebook and Twitter, and comment on the HA blog letting them know that you did!

Visit the list of blogs below and leave a comment on each by Nov 27, 2012 at 11:59 PM PST. Each day we will be sharing a brand new list of blogs with brand new projects for you to explore, be inspired by, and create from!

November 16th
Clearsnap – http://clearsnap.blogspot.com
Hampton Art – http://blog.hamptonart.com/
Graphic45 – http://g45papers.typepad.com/
Fiskateers – www.fiskateers.com/blog
Donna Salazar Designs – http://donnasalazar.typepad.com/
Tombow USA – http://blog.tombowusa.com/
Authentique Paper http://authentiquepaper.blogspot.com/
The Twinery – http://www.thetwineryblog.com/
Eileen Hull for Sizzix http://eileenhull.blogspot.com/
Globecraft Memories – http://globecraftmemories.blogspot.com
Kristin Wilson – Graphic 45 –  http://www.kristinwilsonhandmade.com/
Jennie Garcia – Tombow –  earthyscrap.blogspot.com
Gini Williams Cagle – Hampton Art – http://ginicagle.blogspot.com/
Sabrina Alery – Clearsnap – http://Sabrinaalery.blogspot.com
DeeDee Catron – Globecraft Memories – http://umwowstudio.blogspot.com/
Michelle Grant – Donna Salazar Designs –  http://michellejbg.blogspot.com
Emily Lanham – Authentique Paper –http://www.createserendipity.net
Emma Jeffery – Fiskateers – http://hellobeautifulblog.blogspot.com
Natalie Clause – The Twinery –  http://www.southernbellescharm.com/
Alberto L Juarez – Graphic 45 http://vintageodyssey.blogspot.com/
Vivian Keh – Hampton Art – https://contadinak.wordpress.com/
Jennifer Priest – Clearsnap – http://hydrangeahippo.blogspot.com
Heather Conklin – Authentique Paper – http://goldiecar.blogspot.com/

Cheers to creating gifts from the heart this holiday season!

Happy Hopping!

————-

Wow – look at all those sources of inspiration!  I think this IS the hop of all hops, and I’m so psyched to be in it!!!

So when I first started life with my guy (now hubbie), our first Christmas together, neither of us had any ornaments with which to decorate a tree.  I had none because they’d all been broken or gotten lost because I’d moved around too many dang times.  He had none because… well, let’s just say that moving forward, I’m sharing with him what I’ve learned about holiday spirit 🙂  Since we needed a quick fix for our sad, unadorned tree, we picked up a big, cheap-o set of shiny plastic ornaments, you know, the 30 pack sets of home Depot or Target origin lol?

Since then, each year, I’ve switched out 1 or 2 of the plastic balls for a few handcrafted ones that hold some meaning for us and somehow encapsulate the year we’ve shared.  At first, I would just slip a few photos in store-bought frame ornaments.  But as this crafting life has blossomed so spectacularly for me in the last year, I thought it was about time to up my game a notch or two.

Today I’d like to share with you a few items that I hand-crafted.  First, an ornament that would be great for your own tree, and with a little tweaking, a perfect gift for a loved one.

Here’s a view from the side.

For me, the ritual of tree-trimming always brings back my best childhood memories, and more importantly, that profound feeling of calm that infused my youngest years.  On the backs of the tags hanging from this ornament, I have the year and a note which sums up this last year for us.  By making one or two noted ornaments each year, I’m hoping that by our golden years, tree-trimming will not only become a shared pastime but also a treasured trip down memory lane.

For this ornament, I altered a paper mache ball that I had gotten at my local craft store for about $1.  This one below measures about 3 in. in diameter.

That ridge down the center will end up being a great guide!  I clipped off the cheap string that came with the ball and instead, affixed some pretty Flax twine from The Twinery as shown below.  In order to do this, I first punched 2 1 in. circles from a gorgeous sheet of Authentique paper from their “Peaceful” Collection.  I intentionally chose a subtle pattern because I wanted to focus attention on the textures of the petals.

After punching holes in the center, I threaded twine through each piece and tied.

By notching the circle as shown, I was able to achieve a nicer bind when hot gluing to the rounded surface of the ball.

In the picture above I had hot-glued 2 flaps.  The last 2 flaps were then hot-glued, overlapping a bit and better adhering to the surface .Then I added some self-adhesive pearls for the center of my voluptuous bloom.

After painting the ball with cream colored acrylic paint (I probably should have done this first – oh well!) I set it aside to dry and started punching my petals with a Fiskars “Ornamental” Punch.

Folks, I’m nuts about punches.  Yes, this is an ornament shape, but it has potential to be myriad other shapes, myriad other parts of other shapes, 2-D, 3-D, the possibilities are limited only by your imagination.  This potential is what I’m looking for when I pick up one of these goodies!  FYI, to cover my ornament, I cut out a full 12 in. x 12 in. sheet of these shapes.  Next, I aged the edges with some distress ink, scored across the uppermost part of these pretties…

and curled their hips with a bone folder – I call this, “gettin’ intimate with mah papuhhhhzzz!”

Bend the bottom tab, apply hot glue to it, and start affixing all your petals in rows – here’s where that ridge at my ball’s equator became really helpful.

Once your work goes below the equator, don’t bend the tab anymore – this helps your petals embrace the ball rather than hang awkwardly onto it.

To bump up the texturzzzzz, I added a pom pom made from the same twine from The Twinery.  Wrap a fork with your twine and tie through the middle.

Slide it off the fork as such – it’s so cute just like that, isn’t it?

Then snip the ends and tie to the ornament snugly to the base using the strings that are hanging down.  Here it is turned upside down.

And here’s the view from the top.

Finally, you can add tags – decorate the fronts with stamping and on the backs write something special about the year you had.  If it’s a gift, include instead a little note that will help your recipient recall a great experience you shared this year.  I cut my tags using a Fiskars XXL Lever Punch Tag.

I distressed these as well and added some stamping using Hampton Art PS0486A Santa Postage and  PS0485A Bethlehem Postage Woodblock Stamps.

On the backsides…

No exaggeration here, and I’m so deeply grateful.

Of course, a gift such as this must be accompanied by a card!  I used a Sizzix Pop ‘N Cut die for my card base with more of Authentique‘s beautiful “Festive” Collection to make a quick and easy dimensional card!  One pass through my Big Shot with the base die cut the dark green exterior piece.  And one pass with the Circle Label insert gave me my interior pop-up piece! Using the same die for an exact cut, I also cut a partial accent piece to decorate the front of the card.

I added a cream colored strip using a Fiskars “Lacy Doubles” Border Punch

And embellished with some Olive Colored seam binding that matched perfectly!

For my sentiment, I used a wonderfully vintage woodblock sentiment stamp from Hampton Art,  PS0513A Tidings of Comfort and Joy.

That choice of stamp had me singing this song the rest of the doggone day haha!  Check out the dimension on the interior!

The Pop ‘N Cut made the perfect stage to set a delightful scene!  For this one, I affixed “The Night Before Christmas CP05” Decorative Accents from Globecraft Memories and used them as is – the original rustic brown of those reindeer shapes worked perfectly with my vintage inspired papers.

And here are the two projects together – I think this would be a unique and elegant gift for someone you love!!!

And the ornament itself, a true keepsake for your family.

Thanks so much for visiting with me here today.  And I hope you’ll stop by again really soon!  Happy crafting!

Your next stop is the amazingly talented Jennifer Priest!  If at any time you get lost on today’s portion of the hop, you can refer to the list at the beginning of this very long post 🙂

83 thoughts on “Handmade Holidays Blog Hop of All Hops!

  1. Yes, the twine on the fork is cute vivian………..lololo Great detail in both projects, thanks for sharing the step by steps, as I too know this takes longer to complete than the actual project…wink wink
    ava g

  2. OMG, I love that ornament, and the card’s not so bad either, lol! But really, you did yourself proud. If someone gave me this as a gift I would cherish it forever. Thanks for showing us how you made them.

  3. Your ornament is stunning. I am going to try to make one since I already have the paper mache balls here. Now I have the perfect idea on how to use them. Your card is fabulous also.

  4. Ok…first off….LOVE that you used so many Fiskars Products in this….But Wow….Amazing ornament I love this punch but I dont have it…I think this will be going on my wish list for sure. Your ornament turned out so Beautiful. And the card is stunning….Love those colors.

  5. I love the ornament and your card. I am so glad you included instructions, because I would have never figured that out. Thanks for sharing!

  6. This is by far my favorite blog I’ve been to today! I love your style of writing and I love the easy pom pom on the fork idea! I will definitely be back.
    Thanks so much for a beautiful idea and inspiration
    Love the HOP!

  7. You are amazing. I LOVE the ornament and card. I love that you used that punch for the pieces for the Christmas ball. What a great look!

  8. Love the ornament and the soft color choice you made. I never would have thought to use the punch that way. Thanks for the tut.

  9. What wonderful memories your tree must have from over the years! Thanks so much for sharing the tutorial on how to make this ornament.

  10. Great ornament and so cute. Love the punch you used and the way you made the hanger is a great idea. Your card is adorable with the beautiful green ribbon. Great job

  11. Pingback: Winnings for You, Winnings for Me! | contadina k

  12. Beautiful ornament and card – what a fabulous project for that new squeeze punch!!!
    Thank you for sharing the tutorial 🙂

  13. Pingback: Take a Break and Peruse! | contadina k

  14. Wow Vivian! This is absolutely gorgeous! I definitely want to try this ornament! As for the card… I knew I should have got that circle pop and cut die when I saw it at the expo!!! Now I will have to find one 🙂 Thanks for the great inspiration!

  15. I love the soft romantic look of this ornament and card. A beautiful, delicate looking pair. Thank you for the tutorial.

Leave a Reply

