Uncategorized

My Favorite Time of Year

Despite the abundance of blooms and produce I can coax from the soil every summer, autumn is and always will be my favorite time of year.  I much prefer bundling up a bit to wilting in the heat.  And I love love love so many of the changes that go on in our home to accompany the falling temps – the hearty foods we enjoy at this time of year, gettin’ all cozy wozy, shuffling around in sweats, how I’m drawn to my knitting needles again.  And folks, this year, I ain’t making any dang human sweaters – they take too dang long, they require so much dang yarn, they make my hands ache, and I never finish the dang thing!  But,… I am in the midst of a new sweater for my crazy Pupusa – no pattern, one skein of yarn, and a simple tube shape with button holes for her legs haha!  You shall see her model it shortly!  I don’t know about you, but dogs in outfits always crack me up!

This card I’m sharing today was inspired by this glorious season and is being showcased at Really Reasonable Ribbon today!

For my focal image, I used a beautiful, substantial Shimmer Satin Gold from Really Reasonable Ribbon and “Autumn Melody” papers from my DCWV winnings yeah boyeee!  I cut some upcycled corrugate with a great new Sizzix “Frame, Fancy” die designed by Karen Burniston.  I think this die is going to become a new favorite of mine.  First of all it’s a Bigz, meaning it will cut through just about what-e-vah you want!  Secondly, it’s design is just stunning, such a wonderful decorative element!  The first time I sent it through my Big Shot with my corrugate, I couldn’t stop “Mmm mmm mmm”-ing lol! You will be seeing it in a lot of my projects moving forward.  I put a sentiment inside the frame using a TPC stamp.  For the maroon panel, I used a folksy Martha Stewart edger punch and for the flower center, I used an Epiphany Crafts tool. And since I didn’t have any of the stickpins I lurve, I just up and made some!!!

So, did y’all notice in the new issue of Martha Stewart Living that she is now producing circular punches?!?!?!  One punch makes doily shapes in a range of sizes!!!  Hope the price is right, ’cause if it is, I’m going to be marching into my craft store coupon in hand and stocking up on one or two of those mamas!

A bit of news that came in last night  that I’m dying to share with you! I discovered that starting in January, I’m going to guest design for Faber-Castell Design Memory Craft – woo hoo!  The crafting plate is just about full now 🙂  One of myriad things to be thankful for this year.

I won’t be posting again until Friday, so Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!  I hope yours is full of family and friends, good food, and rest.  I shall be preparing Creamed Onions with Sage, Cranberry Orange Relish (my Martha fave), and Cornbread, Bacon, Leek and Pecan Stuffing.  Hubby will tackle the bird, gravy, twice baked potatoes, and we’re going to buy a pie.  Are you drooling yet?

How about you guys? What will you be making?  We shall be cooking up a storm and feasting over the weekend on all the left-overs.  I’m looking forward to some open faced turkey sandwiches smothered with gravy for breakfast lunch and dinner haha!

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Time of Year

  1. Your ribbon flower is SPECTACULAR!!! The whole card is beautiful but that flower – I can’t stop looking at it. Congrats on all your crafty achievements this year, Vivian. You are an inspiration. And last but not least, have a wonderful, safe and happy Thanksgiving. Your menu sounds delish! Tracy

  2. Oh, what a wonderful card! The ribbon flower is such an eyecatcher! What a clever idea!
    Congrats on your new DT position! It’s no wonder, your creations are ALWAYS amazing!
    I wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving day!

Leave a Reply

