Uncategorized

12 Days of Christmas

If you are here for the Scraps of Darkness Blog Hop, please click here.
If you are visiting from Really Reasonable Ribbon, please click here!

Busy blog day for the Contadina :-).   But before you do look at those posts, check out some amazing prizes for this event – whoa mamma!

badgeWelcome, folks!  If you’ve arrived from Jelissa’s blog, you are on the right track.  And if this is the first you’ve heard about PaperHaus’ 12 days of Christmas, make sure to start and and finish this particular hop at the PaperHaus blog to qualify for all the goodies from this amazing event!  And comment all along the way on each designer’s blog.

For my project, I have Valentine’s project, a romantic shabby chic inspired journal that started out in life as an old cereal box!

AbundanceJournal_A1The sentiment, its stamped flourish frame, and background…

AbundanceJournal_Bwere all stamped using the Hampton Art/ 7 Gypsies IC0148 “Abundance” Stamp Set.  Trim, pearls, flowers…

AbundanceJournal_Dfeathers, flourishes, dainty scalloped edges, white-washing…

AbundanceJournal_Call combined to create the soft, feminine effects that are typical of shabby chic style.

And ohh how humble were my journal’s beginnings.

AbundanceJournal_1She was cut from the front panel of an old cereal box.  That panel was cut in two to make her front and back.  Next, I cut the background paper, simple strips, and punched strips for compositional elements, and distressed all the pieces.

AbundanceJournal_2After that, I did some stamping with my HA/7 Gypsies Stamp Set for the background…

AbundanceJournal_3and also for the sentiment.

AbundanceJournal_4Prior to making the arrangement permanent, I moved the elements around the cover until I found a composition that I loved.  Then, I Mod Podge-d the chipboard with a foam brush.

AbundanceJournal_5And smoothed the paper on top.

CRAFTER’S TIP: I find that in order to get nice, uniform cohesion, it helps to Mod Podge liberally and promptly smooth your paper on top, since thin coatings dry rather quickly.

AbundanceJournal_7The large bloom was die-cut with a Spellbinders Spiral Blossom die and distressed.  I lightly brushed a few elements with the pearlescent paint you see in the pic above before adhering all of them onto my cover in this clustered arrangement.

AbundanceJournal_8Finally, with the addition of some pearl bling…

AbundanceJournal_9Some crystals and soft feathers,

AbundanceJournal_CI felt this project was complete.  This sweet shabby chic project could also make a great Christmas gift for for that girly girl on your list! Hope you’ll be able to craft some handmade gifts this holiday season!  Handmade gifts are the ones I treasure most, and don’t they without a doubt always make your recipient feel warm and fuzzy inside?

Thanks so much for visiting with me here today! Next stop on this hop is the very talented Emilia!

*** FYI I have a GIVEAWAY here on my personal blog going on today, too.  So scroll down and check it out, folks!

SHABBY CHIC JOURNAL SUPPLIES-
STAMPS:
Hampton Art/ 7 Gypsies IC0148 “Abundance” Stamp Set

MEDIA:
Rich Cocoa Dye Ink, Memento
Tea Dye Distress Ink, Tim Holtz
Multi Surface Pearl Paint in “Pink Taffeta,” Martha Stewart

PAPERS:
“London Market” Collection, Pink Paislee

TOOLS:
Doily Lace Edge Punch, Martha Stewart
Label Die, Spellbinders
Spiral Blossoms 1 Die, Spellbinders
Bind it All &  3/4 in. Binding Wires, Zutter

EMBELLISHMENTS:
Paper Flowers, Spare Parts, the Paper Studio
Self-adhesive Pearls, the Paper Studio
Trim, Decorative Trim
“Say It In Crystals” Crystal Flourish, Prima
Feathers, found

46 thoughts on “12 Days of Christmas

  1. I always love what you come up with, you are so talented and this is beautiful, so inspiring. Thanks for the instructions too, because it’s next on my list to make!

  2. WOW!! What a great idea… Cereal Boxes – who would have thought… and your Mini is BEAUTIFUL! Thank you for sharing…
    Karen

  3. Pingback: Doggie Wisdom | contadina k

  4. Ohhhh… I love this, I mean I really LOVE this! I love the idea of the life of a journal starting from a cereal box and oh my gosh, using the mod podge to adhere is a great idea and a wonderful tip offered as well. I am definitely going to be picking up the Spellbinders Spiral Blossom. What an awesome flower. Thanks so, so much for sharing this with us.

  5. Love the shabby chic look…beautifully done, love the flowers…so much work but worth it, they turned out lovely.

Leave a Reply

