Uncategorized

White on White Challenge

For the Scraps of Darkness Blog Hop, please scroll down to the next post 🙂

So over a period of days, I made four different cards for this challenge at Really Reasonable Ribbon.  After I finished each one, I gave myself the night to sleep on whether I liked each card or not and would wake in the morning not liking it so much – very frustrating.  But in the end, an unpleasant yet common aspect of any crafter’s experience, and a good exercise, however microcosmic, in letting go of our failures.

Ultimately, I chose this card for the White on White + One Color and Ribbon Challenge that has just begun over at Really Reasonable Ribbon.

To create interest using purely white, I employed my Gingerbread Technique using an EK Success Snowflake Edger Punch.  I often use embossing folders to create a classy white background as well.

Using Cranberry Pigment Ink from Clearsnap, I stamped an image and sentiment from Hampton Art’s SC0274 Holiday Dreams & Wishes Clear Stamp Set onto a tag cut with a Fiskars XXL Tag Punch, and bound the tag to this very dimensional card using Peppermint Baker’s Twine from Really Reasonable Ribbon.

I just love using edger punches this way and am so glad I woke up the morning I made this remembering that I had this easy technique up my sleeve.

How are y’allz holiday cards coming?  Keepin’ em easy?  Or are you going all out?  Would love to see what you’re makin’ – link me up, will you?

11 thoughts on “White on White Challenge

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas | contadina k

  2. I think this is beautiful. I went to the challenge to see what the others had come up with, and honestly I think your is the best!!! really I do!!! Have a wonderful day.

    • thanks tracy! it’s really easy, just takes a bit of time, but the final effect is cool with different edger punches – i really like it with this scallop edger punch i have with hearts in each scallop – cute.

Leave a Reply

