Uncategorized

Doggie Wisdom

For the Scraps of Darkness Blog Hop, click here.  For the PaperHaus 12 Days of Christmas Event, please click here 🙂

Confession – I spend a healthy chunk of each day thanking God for the miracle of my pets.  Is that weird?  I must have been a dog in another life, because I can think of nothing more satisfying than rolling around with my pooches, communicating with them with grunts and licks, wagging my “tail” haha to get them excited, taking walks with them and savoring all the sights, scents, and sounds that we encounter.  Totally at peace in their company 🙂

The layout I’m sharing with you today features my Crazy Pupusa meditating in the sun.  Yes, she’s a dog.  And yes, her mental functions are not nearly as complex and convoluted as mine – a blessing in my book.  But I swear, this 7 pound pooch meditates, and I caught it on camera!

VivianDecemberSketch_CKW

“Even during the hottest part of our Vegas summers, this little one, with her unusually big ears, eyes, and uber sensitive doggie nose, will plop down here, where the sun is strongest, and JUST BE.  So grateful for this miracle that so unexpectedly popped into our lives.”

Another doggie miracle I want to share with you – before I met this little one, I HEARD her.  I heard get struck by a car.  In the middle of the ESL class that I was teaching in East LA, I heard the impact of her body against a car (hit and run, btw).  And then I heard the most bone chilling screams come from her and ring through the entire neighborhood.  When I ran out of my class onto the street, I found her cut up and bloody, malnourished, cowering, and just about ready to pass out.  As soon as I picked her up, that’s exactly what she did.  After an examination, it turned out all her wounds were superficial – no broken bones!  I still don’t know how she walked away from that trauma unscathed.

She came into my life at the worst possible time, when I was way overworked and way underpaid.  But in my heart, when I picked her up, even though she was a mess, and the thought of caring for another dog seemed financially impossible, I remember saying to myself, “I’ve always wanted a dog like you.”  Cheesy, but totally true.

It’s ridiculous how much joy she’s brought to our lives, and if you’re not an animal person, I hope you will bear with, because this is not the last LO of her that I’ll be sharing with you 🙂  This dog is amazing, and I swear, if I were to make a youtube video of how she interacts with me, it would go viral and she would become famous haha!

VivianDecemberSketch_A As for the LO specifics, I used the Scraps of Darkness November “Karma” Kit and their Color Add-on.  Even though my term with them officially starts today, I couldn’t wait and picked this beautiful assortment of goodies up as soon as I saw it.  The Asian feeling in this collection totally went with my meditating doggie theme.

KarmaSneakPeakIn addition to the kit items, I ruched an olive seam binding from Really Reasonable Ribbon and wove that in with a number of items we find on our walks – leaves, feathers.  I also incorporated some egg carton pieces that I had altered for a video tutorial awhile back.  I just allowed myself to play – truthfully, I’ve been cardmaking and giftmaking soooo much over the last months, my 12 x 12 skillz felt a bit rusty.  But I had fun making it, which was my primary goal.

There is a video in the making for this LO that I’ll hopefully have time to edit after my Momma goes back to Florida.  We’re having a great time hangin’ out – today we started acting like babies, throwing laundry at each other haha (I’m laughing as I write this), messing up each other’s hair with unfolded bed sheets, and laughing about it until we were crying!

Hope you guys are having a great weekend.  Tonight we’re going to the strip for dinner and a Cirque show – yay!  Momma’s never been to Vegas before!

Oh, and before I sign off, FYI, Hampton Art has a Blog Hop with Cheery Lynn Designs that starts today.  Visit the Hampton Art Blog and the Cheery Lynn Blog throughout this week to check out projects from both teams.  Mine will reveal tomorrow!

556147_10100957943655149_1589973872_nCiao!

10 thoughts on “Doggie Wisdom

    • Hi Marilou! Thank you so much! I’m still learning and growing and I hope you’ll be here for the journey. Would love to see what you’re creating all the way over in New Zealand, too! It seems there’s a big papercrafting movement over there, too!

Leave a Reply

