Uncategorized

Getting Started with Ribbonwork

Howdy friends!

Do y’all have interests and hobbies that you’ve yearned to incorporate into your lives but have felt unable to squeeze into your already busy schedules?  I have more than a few.  I’m especially interested in crafts that are getting lost amidst the hustle and bustle of modern day life.  I truly believe that somewhere in those traditions lie keys that will help restore and revitalize our overly tech-ed out society.  As for myself, I’m trying to learn, in bits and pieces, how to create the gorgeous ribbonwork that adorned purses, hats, and gowns that women wore in the early 1900’s.  There are a few books available – I have one that is great, because it starts off with some really easy projects.

Today I’m going to share a super easy beginner technique that i just picked up as I create a simple daisy that you can use to embellish your papercraft projects, clothing and accessories.

RibbonworkDaisy_AYou may say to yourself, “Well, I could just buy one of those and save myself the trouble.”  Well, if you’re a wham bam thank you ma’am type of crafter, I’d say that you’re probably right.  Just joshin’!  I totally can see the beauty of being able to slap something on your project and be done.  I do it all the time.  But…. I would love to baby-step my way toward the refined hand skills one needs to be able to create beautifully ribbonworked pieces.  I’m visualizing one day crafting a spray of tiny blooms along the bust of a fancy gown!

So if you’re interested in learning with me as I baby-step those skillzzzzzz and build a collection of beautiful fibers, take a look at my video tutorial!

I usually make a time of 20-25 minutes, but this one is only 10 minutes long haha!  Perfectly sized crafty fodder for a short break from work!

Speaking of skillzzzzzz, before I sign off, I want to share with you another craft in I’m which I’m acquiring them – knitting.  Hubbie got me a few great knitting books for Christmas.  One of them is all about various ways to cast on and cast off.  There was a cute nubby picot cast off I thought would frame my little Pupusa’s face just spectacularly haha!  And here it is!

ElizabethanPupusa_BShall we call it Elizabethan in style haha?  Finally, on my third sweater, I got the fitting just right.

ElizabethanPupusa_ABecause she’s so tiny, this took less than one skein of yarn!  Really just an investment of time.  Doggie sweaters are too too funny!

Enjoy, and see you back here really soon!

-Vivian

6 thoughts on “Getting Started with Ribbonwork

  1. Your knitted sweater is sooooo cute on Pupusa! Reminds me of the “tube tops” we used to wear that were popular years ago! There is great satisfaction in creating something you’ve invested time and love in. My most valuable material possession is a tea set of delicate china hand painted by my Grandmother, whom I never met, It must have taken forever to paint all those delicate flowers. Keep on sharing with all of us!

    • The china is infused with her spirit. What a great blessing that it is still in the family and can be appreciated by you. All I have of my grandmother is a photo, but it is very important to me.

  2. I love the new picture at the top of your blog!!! That sweater is adorable on her. Papusa must be nice and snuggly warm when you take her out!!! so cute. The ribbon flower is great and you are right, it is pretty easy to make especially with your tutorial, thanks for that!!! Have a great day.

  3. Speaking of keepsake from grandmothers, I have a beautiful silk ribbon sewing kit my paternal grandmother made when she was in her teens–made for her trousseau. There’s one problem with it: the silk is so old, it’s beginning to split and unravel. (Im 68–she made it in the 1890s!). I wish I could figure out a way to conserve it. That said, I SO admire YOUR work, Vivian. I’m really going to miss your Faber-Castell tutorials, but I know your fertile and creative mind will keep posting all manner of other tutorials. Thank goodness! Keep up your great work!

Leave a Reply

