Uncategorized

A Grungy Stop on Your Hop

bloghopbadgeWe have a hop for you today at Really Reasonable Ribbon.  Our talented designers with their diverse array of styles have projects to share with you that use the February Assortment below.

FebruaryAssortmentI had intended to create a springy, happy, clean project for you.  But as those of you who follow me here know, I’ve been knee deep in the world of grunge, or shall we say “prunge,” for many months.  So I thought I’d share a bit of this love with RRR hoppers for the first time today.

MiniGrungeSo we recently moved to San Jose, CA.  Lots of unpacking and purchases of necessities such as dishes and glasses.  Folks – there be some awesome corrugate just begging to be upcycled in that type of packaging.  And what I pulled from the glasses box is already conveniently cut to size!  So that’s what I used for the front, back, and the spine.  There is so much more of it left, so needless to say I will be sharing more corrugate minis here shortly!

I hit the surface with my glue gun and various media to create my organic/vascular effects. To find out how I achieve this effect, you can visit my tutorials page.  I have several projects there illustrating the technique.

GlueEffectHere’s a shot of the back.

BackI bound the pages using the pretty blue floral ribbon which matched my butterfly, and white trim that I had misted to match.  If you are looking for versatility in your fibers, white trims are a great investment – all you need to do is mist them to get them to coordinate nicely with your projects.

BindingJournalArtista on youtube recently shared a few minis she had done by binding with elastic bands or ribbons – so easy and cool, so I thought I’d try it myself.

Binding2Now it’s time to fill this baby up with pix and notes on our new garden plot, which I’m just now starting to tend.  Next stop on the hop is the lovely MISTY!

Here’s the list of stops on our hop just in case you get lost.

Bonnie
Tammy Louise – GUEST DESIGNER

So I haven’t participated in an online challenge in forever!  Since I completely stained my fingers in the making of this project, I’m going to throw my hat in the ring with this one over at Simon Says Stamp as the challenge this week is “Something Messy.”

28 thoughts on “A Grungy Stop on Your Hop

  1. You really are an inspiration! All of your techniques came together to create a very unique album! I have never seen anything so original!

  2. Vivian…I love your mini book! The cover has such amazing texture and color! I love it! I also love the butterfly and how it matches the clever binding of ribbon that you’ve done. Very cool idea. Love the use of your corrugated moving boxes! They’ve never looked so good! Thanks for sharing your art with us at Simon Says Stamp and Show. ❤ Candy

  3. Beautiful Book!!!! I use to live in San Jose, right off of Santa Teresa Blvd. Hope the unpacking goes by fast for you, I always hate moving, soooo much packing and unpacking, omgosh! Hopefully I wont be moving for awhile, but would love to move to a warmer state 🙂 hehehehehe
    Hugs,
    Cheryl

  4. Pingback: Basic Shapes For the Crafty Toolkit | contadina k

Leave a Reply

