Uncategorized

Inspired by the Sea

My second video tutorial using Scraps of Darkness‘ January “Waterways” Kit is ready for your viewing pleasure!

Ooh ooh ooh I had such a good time playing with the media in the Color and Creativity Add-ons in this kit!  Needless to say, the Pearl Ex powders will be staying on the craft table a good while longer – yum!  Hope you enjoy the video as much as I enjoyed making it!  Here’s a sneak to lure you over to the tube.

Mini_CAnd another…

Mini_DAnd another…

Mini_BOh heck here’s the final result – an upcycled corrugate mini, “Inspired by the Sea.”

Mini_AIt really floats my boat when I’m able to beautify something so humble!  Hope you’ll take a break from your day to check out the vid.

I shall enter this project in the current “Something Messy” Challenge at Simon Says Stamp – wish me luck!

-Vivian

17 thoughts on “Inspired by the Sea

  1. What a fabulous project! You were creative, colorful, sparkly, full of nature and able to recycle all in one. You go, girl!!

  2. I’ve been very inspired by your techniques with hot glue gun, masking tape, and colors. Thank you so much for sharing. Your videos are an artistic peaceful meditation for me…:)

  3. The video was wonderful. I love those books, I have recently gotton interested in art journaling and these mini books. I love, love this mixed media for these. I recently came across a blog called Jennibellie Studios that I think you would really like. She does art journaling and has many videos and ow to’s, but I think you would like her style. Let me know what you think. Here is the link: http://jennibelliestudio.blogspot.com/ I want you to know, even tho I havent said much, I am still so inspired by your work. I have been busy rearranging our house and have just a little left to do and then I will be getting back to work on my crafts. I want to make a book like this, and have a couple of ideas to do it with. Take care and hope you are enjoying your new home.

  4. This is stunning! The colors and the organic feeling is so calming. Thank you for the video. I have to tell you something that made me laugh and cringe at the same time. When you were cutting the cardboard with the utility knife I was yelling to you to stop cutting on your non-stick mat and I just had to laugh at myself for doing that. I came across Jennibellie last year and really enjoy her style, sense of humor, and projects. Worth a look-see. Thanks, I enjoy you.

    • Hahaha I thought the same thing to myself before starting and in the moment just felt there was no place else to cut. Silly me, I could have just removed the mat :-/ Thanks so much for your continued support, Sharon! You are on my feed now, too!

  5. A beautiful piece, so much movement and the colours are absolutely gorgeous. Love the design and your added shells. Your inspired by the sea piece is just that INSPIRED. Thanks so much for joining in the Simon Says Stamp and Show Challenge. Tracy x x

  6. This bookmaking technique will be fun for me to make mini photo/memory albums from old family photographs! Can’t wait to get started. However, I do have one question. What did you mean by ‘signatures’ on the inside of the book? I haven’t been following long enough to know all the lingo yet! 😉 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

