Uncategorized

Delving into New Territory

Hello, friends!  Since my new craft room is still a complete mess and I don’t know where my stuff is, I’m taking the opportunity to conduct a little experiment. I have a Scraps of Darkness kit before me and I’m going to use up as much of it as possible before taking out new product.  So far I’m pleased with the results.  After sitting awhile with some Pink Paislee papers from the kit, I felt like they would fare best with a clean and modern approach.

But as you know, these days, my work has been anything but clean.  And modern, well… I don’t think so.  Every now and then, shaking things up and exercising the crafty muscles in new and different ways keeps us toned though, no?  So I went for it, veering away from the distress I so love, trying to be at peace with straight lines haha, and ended up with a decent card!

PinkPaisleePopUp_AI shared this project over at Really Reasonable Ribbon today.  Totally out of my comfort zone.  Yes, it is but a card, but the making of it definitely challenged my crafty sensibilities.

PinkPaisleePopUp_BWhat did I learn?  1) There ain’t nothin’ wrong with slappin’ on the “ephemera.”  That’s what all these tags and doodads are apparently called.  Arranging them on a Sizzix Pop ‘N Cut stage actually created a fun, fresh  surprise inside.

PinkPaisleePopUp_CAnd if I hadn’t agonized with the composition so much, it would have been a really fast card.  2) This one was significant, I think.  The doing of it helped me more clearly identify my own unique “style.”  So while my crafty brain was totally fried by this, I am thankful for the newfound clarity.

PinkPaisleePopUp_DWhelp, this crafty mind is spent 😦  So I think I’ll switch gears, pamper myself with a nice bath, and celebrate something great –  my youtube subscribership just passed 1000!  I had hoped to reach this goal by June but I’m wayyyyy early aw yeah!  Thanks folks for your support – I’ve noticed some hits coming here from your blogs as you’ve so kindly posted about my work, linked to me, and commented elsewhere in the ether.  Much much appreciation!  This wouldn’t have happened without you!  Now it’s time to set a new goal!

I will be back for a double whammy today.  Next up, a tutorial with Faber-Castell Design Memory Craft!  See you later! -Vivian

14 thoughts on “Delving into New Territory

  1. Your final card is beautiful!!! I have not been able to do clean and simple yet despite multiple attempts, so you did good girlfriend!!! Hey and congrats on your You Tube subscriptions!!!

  2. Great use of the kit, Vivian! Wish I could read all your posts and videos in depth but there aren’t enough hours in the day… just wanted to say hello, I had a quick peek at all your latest creations and they are lovely as ever! Love that textured remote box makeover, especially. Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

