Uncategorized

Sizzix + Me = Sweet!

Friends, it feels like I’ve been sitting on this news since FOREVER.   Little snippets of my excitement over this news have snuck out through these little typing fingers out at various stopping points in the ether (I know that drives y’all nuts), but it’s literally been killing me not letting this screaming banshee cat out of the bag!

Folks!  I’m on the Sizzix design team now!!!  I have adored Sizzix since I began papercrafting way back when.  The sturdy, versatile Bigz dies won my heart immediately, and ever since, my love for this brand has expanded and deepened.  Why is it I’m referring to a manufacturer in a manner reserved for life partners?  LOL!

As far as design teams go, this development is a realization of a very big goal for me in my crafting journey.  I’m deeply grateful to be working with Sizzix in this capacity and elated to share the news with you today.  So shall I share with you a few projects of mine that are all out Sizzix?  The styles I’ve grown especially fond of as of late are mixed media grunge and vintage.  So I’ll share some of those with ya’.

If you follow me, you probably already saw this project.  But I’m so excited about how this most recent layout turned out and I’d like to share it with new visitors hopping over from the Sizzix blog.  This one was made with a new “Doily and Doily Border” Thinlits Sizzix Die, and my go to font, “Typeset” die.

"Tread Gently" Mixed Media Layout

“Tread Gently” Mixed Media Layout

Video tutorial here. I couldn’t bear to throw the last doily I had altered in the bottomless pile of scraps, so I made a grungy card with it and added more die-cuts using the “Love, hearts & Border,” Thinlits die set from Sizzix.

A Grungy Love Card

A Grungy Love Card

I call this card below, “Pop ‘N Cuts Go Grunge.”

Pop 'N Cuts Go Grunge

Pop ‘N Cuts Go Grunge

Video tutorial here.

This tag that I shared when I guest blogged for Sizzix in December showcases some of the extensive work I’ve done with hot glue.

Blackbird_A

“Blackbird” Tag

Video tutorial here. I recently shared the art journal page below over at Faber-Castell Design Memory Craft.

FindingShapes_AA liberating way to create compositions just by randomly slapping down die-cut shapes and finding paths within those shapes.  All of these shapes are Sizzix. Video tutorial here.

I also am a great lover of romance and nostalgia.  This is a shaped vintage hat card I made awhile back that pops up on Pinterest every now and then.

VintageHatAI blogged about it here. The ornament below was lovingly made with a Tim Holtz Tattered Florals die.

Ornament_AFriends, this is a dream come true!  I hope you’ll stick around and follow me at my various homes in the ether as I get to share with you for this next year tons of inspirations and projects using my beloved Sizzix dies!

If you haven’t been to the Sizzix Blog yet, click on over and welcome this lovely, diverse, talented team!

41 thoughts on “Sizzix + Me = Sweet!

  1. Big CONGRATS Vivian!!!!!! You so deserve this, your work is amazing and I’m surprised it didn’t happen long ago. Congrats again
    Hugz Tonniece

  2. Oh, I am so ecstatic for you!!!!!! BIG YEAH!!!!! Congratulations on this wonderful news. You so deserve it. You do such wonderful work and it will be an honor to keep following all your posts. Have a great time in your new adventure.

  3. I have been anxiously awaiting the announcement so I could extend my heartfelt congratulations! You are a natural fit for this DT with your amazing creations and clear instructions – a perfect combination for an education-based product like Sizzix! Looking forward to seeing your work on the blog!

  4. Happy Dance Time!…Oh yeah, sounds like you already are!! Congratulations Vivian…you will be an Outstanding addition to the team! Hope this means even more posts from you.

    • Yes, major happy goofy dance!!! Thanks for the shout out – a few teams will be ending, but I am on a crafting roll right now, so you’ll probably see a bunch of posts anyway lol!

    • thanks, elle! i was just conversing with another crafter about dies and how when you have one that suits you, it is such an amazing investment because you can use it over and over and over again!

  5. Congratulations my Dear you deserve it, you know I think your the BOMB at what ever you make…. Will be waiting patiently for your fabulous new projects…. Big hugs to you…

  6. Congratulations. I’m so happy for you. Can’t wait to see what you’ll create for them. Thanks for sharing,

  7. What beautiful work…blackbird has always been one of my favorite songs.
    Can’t wait to look around more and see what you will be do over on Sizzix. Congratulations!

  8. A huge shout out of congratulations to you Vivian!!! You are extremely talented and deserve to have all your dreams come true : )

  9. Congratulations on the sizzix design team, Vivian. I was thrilled with your guest December post of the blackbird tag and viewed your youtube video. I am looking forward to seeing your artistry and creativity in the future on the sizzix blog. I visit the sizzix blog daily.
    Jacquelene L.
    Canada

    • Thank you, Jacquelene! Oh I’m so flattered you remembered my post. Great to meet another Sizzix fan here! So excited to work with even more of their awesome stuff!

Leave a Reply

