Uncategorized

Different but the Same

Did y’all catch my Bleeding Heart layout and tutorial?  It was my last post with Faber-Castell Design Memory Craft – so much fun to draw again!!!  Whelp, I didn’t get enough of the bleeding hearts.  I’ve been playing around with them quite a bit, stylizing the shape a little, practicing the gestures that go into making them easily and naturally, discovering how they look best in a composition.

My momma has also been on my mind a ton as of late.  She’s been traveling around the world, literally, with her older sister.  While I’m so glad that after a really really tough life, she is able to enjoy some of the finer things, I miss her terribly!  If we don’t talk every day or every other day, I start to get really depressed.  “What a baby this Vivian is,” you’re probably thinking to yourself.  Yeah, so what? Lol!

Anyway, I made a card for my momma featuring a pair of bleeding hearts, with a wildly vibrant background and no words, symbolizing in a sense how we are different, but we are also the same.  Here’s a sneak to lure you over to the PaperHaus Magazine Blog.

SneakPeakHope you will be able to visit me over there and leave me a little comment lovin’!

-Vivian

17 thoughts on “Different but the Same

  1. I was really looking forward to seeing what you posted over at paperhaus, but when I went over there, their last post was from April 16th. I’ll visit later today. I too speak to my Mom every day (sometimes every other day), so if you’re a “baby”, I’m a “baby”. So what, right?

  2. Dear Viv: dont feel so bad. I am 56 and my mom 88 and i also miss her sooo much when I travel or am unable to see her almost everyday that i think i am an old crybaby. At least i know now i am not the only one. 😉

  3. Well I already comment on your gorgeous card, and your not a baby at all, we should all love our Moms like you do, I lost mine a long time ago and still wish she was here, anyway my dear your bleeding hearts are fabulous as all your work is.
    Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful week..

  4. You know I am a big fan of your work and your bleeding hearts is one of my faves! So what a delight to see another bleeding hearts project! Thanks!

    • Hi Val! Thanks for stopping by and for your sweet comment – hope you are having a great week! I just got a chiropractic adjustment and feel spectacular. Limping around with a broken foot can mess up a back whoa mamma!

  5. This card is wonderful! Loving the bleeding hearts and the soft colors. Sorry you are missing your momma! I think it’s the best that you two are so close!

    • Hi Sharon! Thank you! Momma just got back from her trip. I think she’s a little out of it after all that traveling. Hey, I’m only 39 and traveling totally stresses me out. But it is good to have her back. Now I’m happy lol!

  6. Nice. Bleeding hearts are beautiful. Is there some connection between the bleeding hearts and missing your mom. I feel the same way when my God-mother and I don’t talk. Anyway… love your work. Is there any plans for more grunge work?

    • totally a connection. thanks for the sweet words, and yes, of course more grunge! those projects tend to take significantly more time for me, as there is often a lot of experimentation before i have something i want to share with everyone. but they will show up here frequently! so glad you like the grunge work!

  7. Pingback: Thursday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways | lifeimitatesdoodles

Leave a Reply

