Uncategorized

Using Up Juicy Scraps

Hi there folks!

I have a post at Really Reasonable Ribbon today.  You know all the mixed media we’ve been doing on my youtube channel?  Don’t throw away those juicy scraps with all the lovely colors on them!  I’ve been saving mine, and had a chance to die-cut what I had left using my Sizzix dies to make a pretty, vibrant card for my niece’s birthday.

VivianKehScrapCard_A

I had a large piece of yellow cardstock left from one of my Scraps of Darkness kits and used that for my card base.  I had some Bristol vellum left from who knows what project.  That made the inner square.  The purple flower was die cut using a Sizzix Flower, Daisy #658502 Sizzlit die.  I didn’t use it for another project that will post at Sizzix shortly, so I threw it into this project.  It was stamped with Hampton Art and colored with Faber-Castell Design Memory Craft Gelatos.

VivianKehScrapCard_C

Can anyone guess what I used to get the patterns on the inner doily shape?  That one was colored with Clearsnap SMOOCH Spritzes and cut with a Decorative Frames Set #657094 Sizzix Sizzlit.  But remember these are all scraps.  The media mixin’ happened days before, so this card came together uber fast!  All I really did was outline the shapes with a Faber-Castell Design Memory Craft PITT Artist Pen, add some minimal doodling, and wrap with this gorgeous Yellow Iridescent Organza from Really Reasonable Ribbon.

VivianKehScrapCard_B

Oh my word that stuff shimmers in every type of light. This card will go to my niece, along with a little moola and some pretty, girly ribbons.  Bright and pretty.  One of these days, she will have to come visit and craft with me in my studio.  That would be loads of fun!

-Vivian

14 thoughts on “Using Up Juicy Scraps

  1. Hi Vivian,
    I’m completely hooked on your videos and techniques! You inspire me to heights I
    never thought were possible with my art. So thank you for everything you do for us.
    Every card every technique is a wealth of information for all art students and crafters. Thank you Vivian for being there for me.
    An Appreciative Artist
    Gayle

    • Gayle! Thank you so much! I have a really great time discovering new techniques and preparing tutorials for you. Thanks for your support. I really appreciate it! I have lots of plans for the future and I hope you will follow me!

      • You bet I’ll be following you, I don’t want to miss a thing you have to share with me. I made a special folder just for you. By the way I love your little rat dog, she’s so adorable, I’m a push over for cute little dogs.
        I do so like the way you explain things and you have such fun doing all your projects which makes me want to join in. Thank you Vivian.
        An Appreciative Artist
        Gayle

  2. Hi Vivian.
    First I would like to say that I simply admire your creative spirit with respect to your appreciation for our wonderful planet!! Your creations are amazing. I would like to ask however, if you have any suggestions of what I could use in lieu of a die cut apparatus since I do not own one at this time?

    • Hi Sherron! Thanks so much for your kind words. In lieu of a die-cut machine, all I can think of is a good quality exacto knife with stencil templates or free-handing designs. If you are in the USA, I know the Sizzix Big Shot goes on sale periodically at the major craft stores. If my memory serves me correctly, I have seen it on sale for about $50.

Leave a Reply

