Uncategorized

Faux Rust Effect Video Tutorial

Hi friends!  I have a new video tutorial which focuses on crafting tools from the Color Add-on in Scraps of Darkness’ April kit, “Remember When.”  I nearly jumped out of my seat when I learned that the add-on included Tim Holtz Distress paints.  Looky looky!

coloraddon

At first glance, I thought that these colors would be great for autumn themes.  But as I worked with them, I realized they could effectively create a great rusted effect.  Video tutorial here:

Here’s a shot of the Rust Effect in the project I featured in the video.  It uses the Distress paints from the Color Add-on in conjunction with the “Bubble” embossing folder from Sizzix.  And it’s really easy!

VivianKehRustedEffectCard_A

I actually worked all day on a different project, a layout, which in the end, I didn’t like enough to edit into a video – pooh.  But, I did discover that this assortment of Distress Paints used with the beautiful teal patterned papers from Bo Bunny’s Mamma Razzi Collection included the base kit give a completely different effect – deep and luminous!

VivianKehInsistent_D

Umm, I need me some more of those papers!!!  Wow yow the teal patterned paper combined with the Spiced Marmalade Distress Paint makes my heart SING!

For my next video tutorial, I will focus on the Creativity Add-on from the April Kit!  So visit Scraps of Darkness to subscribe, if you haven’t already!  Every month, Karolina, Sarah, and I prepare tutorials to show you myriad ways to enjoy the Color and Creativity Add-ons that are available.

14 thoughts on “Faux Rust Effect Video Tutorial

  1. Beautiful card…love the rusty tones! Beautiful flowers. As always I thoroughly loved your video. Can’t wait to hear more tips for using the Distress acrylic paints since I need to wait a few more weeks before buying mine.

  2. Oh what a wonderful card. The colors and textures are so yummy! Very informative video as it showed the mixing of the distress paints perfectly. Thank You.

  3. Pingback: Monday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways | lifeimitatesdoodles

      • So it looks like you need a Sizzix machine….which I don’t have. I love those roses. Darn. Is there a cheap machine that I can get away with using that die cut? I am into mixed media and would like to use it for my journal cover. Maybe I can find a template for cutting one out. What weight/kind of paper would you recommend if I wanted to use a watercolor wash? Thanks so much for offering to make a video. Should I get a machine I would need help then. You’re so very kind in answering my question.

      • I would suggest waiting until you see the Sizzix Big Shot on sale. If you live close to a major craft store, I have seen it go on sale periodically for about $50. I wouldn’t suggest picking up a cheap die-cut machine because if you do get into die-cutting, it will end up being a waste of your money. The thing with these rolled flowers is the paper must be strong but pliable. I might try rolling a strong cardstock of bristol vellum or multi-purpose paper and then drenching with watercolor.
        Or doing the watercolor before cutting but making sure it is completely dry before cutting.

  4. Thank you for sharing the video. I have purchased some distress paint but, I haven’t used it much. Now I know some great ideas for using them. I love the look of rust effects, creating my own rust looks is always at the top of my list. Rusty looking roses now that’s a cool new idea, I love roses, I never thought of putting rust and roses together. I also agree with your advice to Sue, I have owned cheaper die cutting machines they are a waste of money. I bought my bigshot last year for my birthday it is the best manual machine I have ever owned.
    Thank you for inspiring my creativity.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

Leave a Reply

