Uncategorized

Where You Been, Girl?!

Well helloooooooo!   I usually post more frequently, folks.  I don’t quite know what happened.  A couple of developments in the past few weeks have gotten me out of my routine somewhat.  It’s all good – the performance of my play went spectacularly and thanks to all the talented folks involved, I have some great ideas to now expand a short one act into a full length play.  So grateful for that.  This means reorganizing some of my crafting commitments, hopefully working more efficiently, and religiously writing.

A big birthday also passed for me this last Saturday – I turned the big FOUR OH!  Thank goodness I don’t have any major issues (at least I think I don’t) about that number.  Aside from a few aches and pains, life just keeps getting better as the years pass.  Hubbie made the day unforgettable – he started the day by bringing me espresso and the newspaper in bed, as well as a gorgeous necklace!  We cleaned for much of the day since his parents were to visit on Sunday.  But we finished off the day at McCormick and Schmick’s for dinner.  I had never been there before, but I am now a big fan – every element in that meal was to die for!  The best thing about the day, though, was simply getting to spend it in entirety with my guy.  We joke that we won’t have any issues during retirement because we are absolutely content spending 24/7 together.  If it turns out well, I believe my next layout at Sizzix will be all about this ever loving and lovable guy.  A couple of other things going on, too, but I won’t bore you with them just yet 🙂

Next item of the day, a little reminder for those of you who use Google Reader.  Have y’all switched over all your blog lists from google to another service?  If you haven’t yet, do it soon, because before you know it, Google Reader will be gone.  Some folks have turned on to Bloglovin’.  I also am very happy with the interface on Feedly.  Don’t worry – it’s easy.  These services will import the blogs you follow through Google with just a few clicks.

Projects projects!  Pictures!  I have a few papercrafted projects that are in progress, but for today I have a card project to share that I recently made with Core’dinations Cardstock!  My first DT box was HUMONGOUS!  A crafter’s dream.  This card features lovely “Gemstones” Colorcore Cardstock that came in the perfect size for cardmakers – 4.25 in x 5.5 in.  Each sheet has a pretty pearlescent sheen.

VivianKehAbundanceCard_A

Core’dinations and Sizzix – what a pair!  For this flowers, I used a Sizzix die that I’ve been “exploiting,” lol!  Getting such great use out of the bloom die, and especially the varied leaf shapes.

VivianKehAbundanceCard_C

I also used the Colorcore Cardstock with a new Sizzix embossing folder from their “Moroccan” style collection, sanding away the raised surface to take advantage of the capabilities of Core.

VivianKehAbundanceCard_B

The result is a nice combination of pearlized surfaces and matte surfaces.  Love that folder.

That’s all for now, folks.  I shall groom my hairy cocker spaniel now and then try to get my craft on!

SUPPLIES:
Core’dinations:
Gemstones ColorCore (4.25 in x 5.5 in) – Sapphire,Rose Quartz, and Opal
Sand-It Gadget
Dust Buddy
Sizzix – “Moroccan” Textured Impressions Embossing Folder, Flower Bloom w/ Leaves 3-D Sizzlit, Big Shot Machine
Hampton Art – “Abundance” Stamp Set IC148
Viva Decor – Pearl Pen
Tim Holtz – Distress Ink
Tsukineko – Stazon Ink
Really Reasonable Ribbon – Metallic String Iridescent

22 thoughts on “Where You Been, Girl?!

  1. Happy Wonderful Birthday Vivian! I have missed you. I am so glad that you had a wonderful day. You must share the beautiful necklace you husband showered you with! 🙂 I turned 40 this past year too! Unlike you, I was surprised at how I did have “issues” with THAT age. I think it had to do with having to realize that all the hopes and dreams that I had has a teen and young adult would probably never come true. It was kinda like the “time to grow up Peter Pan reality slap-in-the-face” for me. KWIM?
    Valerie

    • thanks, valerie! oh valerie i’m sorry the big 40 was tough for you. i think i experienced a lot of that in my thirties and that was very painful. on to new loves and passions and savoring today for the both of us!

  2. Beautiful card. Love the colours. The pearlescent paper looks beautiful, I will have to look for that or ask my local store.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  3. Happy birthday, Vivian! Love your card. The colour combo and the flowers and embossing is fabulous! Just curious – how do you keep your craft room organized when you keep adding to your stash? This is my biggest problem – to the point where I don’t know where I’ve put stuff!

    • LOLOL, Tracy! I am constantly thinking about how to store stuff. The only way I know I’ll use it is if I see it, so I will be using a lot of wall space with open storage. We should do “peak into my space” blog posts and see how we all live in there lol!

      • That would be fun. I think you would be horrified if you saw my space, lol! I set up a teeny tiny space in our unfinished storage area in the basement next to the furnace just so I could have a place all my own. It was great at first but I am quickly outgrowing it. I’m constantly reorganizing to fit everything in.

  4. Oh I missed you. Got to get my contadina fix on a regular basis, lol. Happy Birthday Vivian. The card is just fab. The colors and textured. That embossing folder is to die for. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Happy belated Birthday Vivian! I’m so glad that you have a loving husband. This is the first time hearing about you being in a play. Have you posted about it before? I’d like to hear more about it. The card you made is beautiful : )

    • oh i think i posted about it maybe once before. i love the theater, and these days am involved only as a playwright – the actor’s life is too crazy for me lol! wish me luck in writing some good pages over the next few weeks! thank you for the birthday wishes, cheryl!

  6. Happy Birthday Vivian…I sure hope you haven’t stopped celebrating yet! Know that your 40 something years may be your “Best Ever”. Finally it time to enjoy using all the wisdom and experience you have gained thorough your life experiences to date. Perhaps you are already starting with thoughts about writing the full length play. My best tip-remember to celebrate the special moments because they speed by way to quickly. Enjoy!

    Yes, you were missed…but since you showed up with the best card all is good!

  7. Happy belated BD dear Vivian, and it only keeeps getting better after forty:):)
    The card is beautiful lovely colors ans I love how you used the ribbbon and the string, thanks for sharing and have a wonderful day, I’ so glad you had a grrrrreat BD with your Love…

Leave a Reply

