Uncategorized

An Easy Thank You Card with Sizzix

Hi there, folks.  Today I have a really easy grungy card to share.  One can never have too many thank you cards on hand, don’t you agree?  And I’m starting to think that after every project in the studio, I ought to gather my scraps and make it a habit to whip up a thank you card.

VivianKehThankYou_A

I had some Core’dinations Colorcore Cardstock left over from a layout that I had done.  The blue color on the right side was great for my layout, but the kraft backside suited me perfectly for the cardbase on this project.  Somehow kraft cardstock always draws me into projects I encounter, whatever the style!  I dry embossed this backside using the Sizzix Texture Fades “Bubble” Embossing folder and patted the debossed surface with a great white fluid chalk from Prima which goes on smooth and dries quickly.

VivianKehThankYou_B

I distressed the edges with Tim Holtz Walnut Stain Distress Ink and added some background stamping using a Hampton Art “Distressed Words” PS0680 Woodblock stamp and the same ink.

VivianKehThankYou_C

The alphas were cut using the Sizzix “Chip Block” Decorative Strip Alphabet die and some more Core’dinations Cardstock.  OK, am I the only crafter that’s totally psyched about having an alpha strip die that I can use to my heart’s content and not having to buy consumable alphas that are here today and gone tomorrow?  I reach for my Alpha Strip dies from Sizzix for just about all my projects that need titling – layouts, art journals, cards.  Since I can use coordinating papers from my project, matching is never ever an issue.   A very wise, very practical crafty investment, in my opinion.  Once the letters were adhered with glue, I sanded them gently for more grungy punch.

VivianKehThankYou_D

As for the butterflies, I took an entire sheet of Bristol Vellum and randomly painted it with Tim Holtz Distress paints, spritzing liberally with water and tilting the page to encourage fun drippy patterns.  For this card, I cut out just 2 lovely butterflies using the Sizzix “Flights of Fancy” Sizzlit die set, part of a  new collection of dies from  Brenda Walton which you must check out.  I will keep the rest of that painted sheet on my table and it will go to great use in upcoming projects.

To finish it off, I wrapped it simply with a length of dark brown jute.VivianKehThankYou_E

The final result is a masculine card that’s grungy, with a small, bold pop of color.  Thanks for stopping by today, folks!

-Vivian

SUPPLIES
Sizzix:
Texture Fades “Bubble” Embossing folder
“Chip Block” Decorative Strip Alphabet die
“Flights of Fancy” Sizzlit die set

Hampton Art:Hampton Art “Distressed Words” PS0680 Woodblock stamp

Core’dinations:
Tim Holtz “Nostalgic” Kraft Core Cardstock Collection

Tim Holtz/Ranger:
Distress Paints in Fired Brick, Vintage Photo, Peeled Paint
Distress Ink in Walnut Stain

Prima Marketing:
Fluid Chalk Ink in White

Brown Jute

6 thoughts on “An Easy Thank You Card with Sizzix

  1. Nice card. Great idea to make cards as you finish projects with left over scraps. Always have a stash of cards. Good thinking. Love the butterfly. Going to keep my eyes open for that die. Thanks. Have a great day.

  2. Wow Vivian this card is gorgeous, love the embossed texture, your butterflies are marvelous, delightful colors, its perfect and THANK YOU for sharing and inspiring me, have a wonderful day..

  3. Pingback: Sizzix Blog | The Start of Something You

Leave a Reply

