Uncategorized

Going with the Flow

Hello, friends!

Today is my last post at PaperHaus Magazine.  It was a difficult decision for me to say goodbye, but it was the right thing for me to do at this time, and I wish the folks there all the best.  Moving forward, I hope to maintain relationships with the talented crafters I met there and had the pleasure to get to know.  I am grateful to have been given the opportunity to share my crafty experiments on the PaperHaus blog, and will miss sharing with you over there.  If you are visiting from PaperHaus, please subscribe to my blog so we can keep in touch!  I regularly post here, and do my best to innovate and inspire you guys!

The project I’m sharing today is a pair of upcycled mixed media panels.  If you follow me here, you know how I feel about this stuff – totally liberating!  When working with an expensive piece of watercolor paper or a canvas, I often find a little demon on my shoulder urging me not to mess up lol!  But this stuff begs you to be spontaneous and to really play!  Here’s one panel.

VivianKehArtPanel_A_CKW

This project really was all about “Going with the Flow,” the flow of paint, that is.  Letting the lovely mixing of colors on the surface do my compositional work for me, and going for impressions/suggestions/fluidity as opposed to distinct forms/realism.

Here’s the second panel.

VivianKehArtPanel_B_CKWAnd a stepped out tutorial awaits you at the PaperHaus blog!  Hope you’ll stop by and leave me some love over there.

Thanks so much,

-V

9 thoughts on “Going with the Flow

  1. These colors feel like summer. Just beautiful. You’ve got me collecting cardboard to use. It’s stacked up in my room just waiting when I get some inspiration. Maybe I need to pull them out and play.

  2. Oh Gosh….they are so wonderful. Just love the colors and the ” going with the Flow”. Great work and so very inspiring !
    Thanks a lot for sharing.
    Hugs from SPAIN

  3. Hello Again Vivian,
    What a wonderful eye of the artist to pick out “Flowers” in the paint, you never cease to amaze me vivian. This is full of inspiration again from an artistic visionary.
    Thank You for all the techniques and inspiring visuals. I absolutely love it,
    Gayle

    • Gayle, I am smiling from ear to ear after reading your comment! Thanks so much. I try to pick out forms, but I’m constantly awed by how well you guys pick out forms and see things in the blobs that I don’t!

  4. This is one of my favorites so far and I have many that you’ve done Vivian.
    These works of art transport me to a world of beauty, this one has so much depth
    and luminosity I love it so much, the colors are perfect. Thank you again for all of
    your wonderful inspiration. I like to paint out side of the box too and do things that
    are not the usual thing. I think it stretches the imagination to new heights and gives
    insight to the soul. I appreciate you very much.
    The Back Door Artist
    Gayle

Leave a Reply

