Uncategorized

Sticking with Primaries

I can’t believe another week has flown by.  Funny Guy Chris Rock has a hysterical skit about how time couldn’t have moved any slower when he was working a job he hated.  Now, not only aren’t there enough hours in the day, he can’t wait for the next day to begin, ’cause he got projicks!  Lol!  When I quit my job teaching ESL and started life with my husband, he worried that I’d be twiddling my thumbs and bored.  I tell you, I feel just like Chris Rock!  And when I feel physically well, my days are full of projects projects projects, and all the things I love.  So grateful for that.

The “projick” I have to share with you today uses a whole bunch of Sizzix die-cuts and leftovers that function as masks.  I started by cutting some new 7 Gypsies papers with the Leaves, Tear Drop Die from Sizzix.  Basic shapes folks – essential for the crafting toolbox.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_1

As you’ll see in my project, I used them abstractly.  But these shapes make great summertime splash shapes, graphic flower petals, peacock feathers, whatever you can imagine!  Their basic paisley shape is one of my favorite organic forms.

I wanted to play with primary colors on this layout to 1) carry the colors of the gorgeous bell peppers in my photo 2) reflect the vibrance amidst the hustle and bustle of a Farmer’s Market and 3) capture the nostalgia I feel for those early days in my relationship with my then boyfriend now hubbie.  That was only three years ago!!!

After die-cutting these shapes, I treated them with a Texture Spray from Tsukineko. I’m always experimenting with ways to change the way my surface absorbs media.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_2

After this dried, I misted with primary colored sprays from a variety of manufacturers.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_3

Spontaneous mixing!  Cool beans!  While these pieced dried, I took my yellows to a large square of watercolor paper –  this is a good, sturdy surface that won’t buckle as much as others.  Spraying, dripping deliciousness.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_4

Here I played with transparent and semi-opaque yellow tones.  Then I took a die-cut scrap from the Sizzix “Typeset” Alphabet Strip Die and used it as a mask, blending Distress Ink through the open holes.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_5

I did the same thing with the scraps from my Sizzix “Mariposa” die-cut.  Those red splotches below are pounce marks from Tim Holtz Distress Stain.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_5A

I adhered my teardrop shapes using Ranger Glue ‘n Seal, and worked some Distress Marker into some of the nooks and crannies.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_6

For the title, I added some pure white text “crossword puzzle style” using alphas cut from the Sizzix “Chipblock” Strip Die.  I’m thinking that doing this type of titling all over a layout could be very interesting!

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_D1

And to finish, some texture stamping to grunge things up just a tiny a bit more.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_C1

I doodled a few more teardrop shapes, a frame around my photo, and a frame around the entire layout.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_B1

Color is a doggone beautiful thing!  From these three basic colors – red, yellow, and blue – come all the rest.  Allowing them to mix on my die-cut shapes facilitated my inclusion of lovely secondaries as well.

VivianKehFreshVibrantHappyLO_A1

Hope you enjoyed this stepped out tutorial!  I had a ball putting it together for you.

See you back here soon!

-Vivian

SUPPLIES:

Sizzix –  Leaves, Tear Drop Bigz Die, “Typeset” Alphabet Strip Die, “Mariposa” Bigz Die, “Chipblock” Alphabet Strip Die

Ranger – Tim Holtz Distress Ink and Distress Stain, Dylusions Ink Sprays, Glue ‘N Seal

Tattered Angels – Sheer Mists, Chalkboard Mists

Core’dinations – ColorCore Cardstock in Snowflake

7 Gypsies – Patterned Paper

Tsukineko – Texture Spray

Sakura – Pigma Micron 03 Pen

Market Street Stamps – Clear Background Stamp

9 thoughts on “Sticking with Primaries

  1. As always, your work is fresh and fabulous! I have a question. Who is the manufacturer of the mat you are always using beneath your work? I have seen it in another artist’s blog and am really interested in looking into it. It seems to be very sturdy and I am guessing that it wipes clean in a blink of an eye and stays put.

    If you can help me out, I really would appreciate it. I am getting pretty grungy!

  2. I love how your layouts are never quite the same, but with one glance, I can recognize that it’s one of your creations. Will you be doing another video (tutorial) soon?

    • that is great to hear – maybe my style is becoming more distinct! i actually just finished a video tutorial for Core’dinations and it should be available through them shortly!

  3. So beautiful and so inspiring! I’ll be back to see more of your work. Thank you for sharing your impressive work.

Leave a Reply

