Uncategorized

A Blog Hop with Sizzix – You Don’t Want to Miss This!

julyhop

Hello, friends!  I am participating in a SWEET blog hop with Sizzix starting today, July 3rd through 7th.  I hope you’ll play along as there are 4 prizes valued at $100 each for 4 lucky hoppers!  So make sure to collect the secret words from each blog  you visit!

As for my project, I thought long and hard about what the Fourth of July means to me personally.  You may notice that my palette is red, white and blue,… and yellow 🙂  The colors I chose represent for me the wonderful diversity of culture to be found here that makes me feel through and through that America is and always will be home.  I take time (not just on the fourth) to appreciate the freedoms we enjoy and the work our servicemen and women do to preserve those freedoms.  And I remind myself how blessed we are that each and every one of us here can speak our minds, make our own choices, realize our dreams, and CHOOSE the path we’d like to walk in our lives.

VivianKehSizzixMixedMediaPainting_A

This mixed media painting using several Sizzix dies which I will share in detail in my close-up shots.  It actually measures about 6 in. x 18 in. and was done on watercolor paper.

VivianKehSizzixMixedMediaPainting_C

Before adding my die-cuts, I painted my surface with a combination of gesso, acrylic paint, various mists and inks.  In the shot above, you can see the Rubbing Alcohol Resist that I shared in the last video that I prepared for Sizzix.  If you didn’t get to see it, you can watch it here! I dropper-ed the alcohol and also spattered it for variety in texture – very grunge-y.  I also stamped using one of my favorite household items – bubblewrap.

For my title, I used the Sizzix Word Play Alphabet Die, #657837.  This is a Bigz XL die, which means, you can use it over and over again to cut your alphas.  Buy chipboard alphas no more!

VivianKehSizzixMixedMediaPainting_B

I collaged a whole bunch of Sizzix die-cut shapes, using the Butterflies & Labels Bigz die designed by Karen Burniston, a Sizzlit from the Hello Set also by Karen Burniston that cuts several cute blooms all in one pass, the following dies from Tim Holtz –  Mini Hearts Movers and Shapers die set,  the Gadget Gears Bigz die, and the Mini Butterflies Movers and Shapers Set.

I carefully chose my dies  – butterflies to symbolize the potential here in the USA to transform our lives for the better, hearts to symbolize the freedom to love whomever we choose, and gears to represent the fact that with hard work and determination, our dreams can become realities.  This project involved some fun distressing and sanding.

VivianKehSizzixMixedMediaPainting_D

I love when I can sand off layers of paper and reveal bright and clean bits of color.

VivianKehSizzixMixedMediaPainting_E

Darker grunge surfaces peeled back to reveal bright and surprising bits of yellow that contrasted nicely with the blue background.  Love that color combo.

I hope you enjoyed my project!  If you didn’t start at the Sizzix blog, hop over there to get all the details.  Enjoy the hop and make sure to stop by the blogs which I’ve listed below and hook up with us on our social media platforms.

-Vivian

BLOG HOP ORDER

http://pinterest.com/Sizzix/

37 thoughts on “A Blog Hop with Sizzix – You Don’t Want to Miss This!

  1. Let crafting freedom ring! What a great collage in bright lovely colors. Love the way the butterflies and flowers look mixed in with the gears and title. You always create so many layers of texture, Vivian. Lovely!

  2. Vivian: I am so loving you! Your mixed media work is so, so wonderful. Each of your projects teach me many things. I really like how each element of your July 4th project has meaning. Thank you so much for sharing your talent with us!

  3. WoW!! Very Inspiring, Vivian. I really appreciate your outside the box, mixed media, artistic expression of this creative challenge. I feel the same way about Canada. Thank you for sharing this beautiful project.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

  4. Truly stunning.I love all the color,the texture,and your creative spirit.I’ll be referring back to this post frequently.Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

  5. I mentioned this on another blog, that I oddly enough have trouble scrapping patriotic stuff. But your project is another patriotic themed inspiration for me! Thank you! I love the layers and texture, and the colors, really wonderful. I’ll ditto the desire to touch and feel all that lovely art goodness. Fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

