Uncategorized

A Few Cards to Share

Holla holla!  One of the characters in the piece I’m working on uses a ton of slang that so many young folks use today.  So I’m keeping my ears peeled and watching a lot of TV to which I would never normally expose myself.  Did you know that there are folks who glue diamond “grilles” to their teeth?  That is “cra cra” lol!  Hubbie and I are getting “hella” entertainment incorporating these terms into our vocabulary – in my head, it works.  But in our lives, no matter what we do, none of it will roll off our tongues in any way that’s even nearly convincing.  It sure is funny, though.    Anyway, that’s what’s going on in the studio – writing non-stop, periodically gazing yearningly at my craft table.  My brain gets fried by the end of the day, but it’s all good.  When the writing juices flow and I come up with something I like, I feel absolutely fabulous!

In the craft department, I have a few cards to share at Hampton Art.  I would say “a pair,” except for the fact that they are very different in style.  I hope you’ll hop over there to check them out and leave me a bit o’ comment lovin’!

One card uses a new technique I picked up from Lindy’s Stamp Gang, using their mica powders with stamping.  Here’s a sneak.

VivianKehMicaButterflyCard_B

I definitely want to play more with that technique.  The second card has a very formal look to it, although I’ve used the tearing technique for a variety of projects that are completely informal. Another sneak peek.

VivianKehTornCard_CLoving the tearing, and with the “dry crafting” that I’ve been doing lately, my fingers are thanking me for not staining them constantly.  I’m enjoying the challenge of exercising my crafty muscles and working in new ways.

Hope you’ll stop by Hampton Art today if you have a chance.

6 thoughts on “A Few Cards to Share

  1. Vivian the cards are beautiful, love the butterfly one. The torn paper on the ladybug card really gives it interesting texture. So glad you are having fun with your new writing project, and you are even learning a new language, hee, hee! Keep up the good work, I am so happy and proud of you for walking through this new door of opportunity. I miss your artsy project posts, but I know you are doing important work and crafty goodness will be there when you are done with the writing project.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

    • Thank you, Jacquelene, for the compliments, and for the vote of confidence. I think I will work with the tearing some more – could lead to some interesting effects. Right now, I’m working on a rather “artsy” video, going back and forth with the writing while my papers dry. Hope to be done with this short draft in the next few days – I’d better be. The deadline is the 18th! :-0

  2. Went over to the Hampton site what beautiful cards, I might try my take on the lady bug card. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by here and there, Carolon! Would love to see your project! I definitely want to play some more with the tearing – awesome way to use up ALL the scraps of my Core’dinations cardstock. Happy crafting.

Leave a Reply

