Uncategorized

Week in Review

I hope you all had a wonderful week!  My week was full of cleaning  and organizing inside and tilling and pulling outside.  Friends from high school that I haven’t seen in about 20 YEARS (!!!) will be visiting shortly, and I don’t know how it is for you, but nothing kicks my butt into “cleaning house gear” better than the prospect of having guests!  And believe it or not, I actually went shopping.  I found huge savings on nice comforters for the guest rooms – I’m talking $38 down from $220!   Aww yeah boyee!

This week was also quite busy craft-wise.  After a crafty dry spell because of writing deadlines, I busted a move to prepare 3 video tutorials for you this week – phew (wipe brow lol)!  And I realize that I only shared sneaks of two of them.  So today I have full shots, just in case you weren’t able to check them out in the ether.  This wellness journal got a great reception, and I want to thank you guys for taking the time to leave me some love here, on youtube, and at Sizzix.

VivianKehPathToWellnessJournal

Using items from my Scraps of Darkness June “Firecracker” Kit as well as a few precious scraps from the project above, I did a layout titled, “Independence,” focused on current happenings in the garden.   Tending our own gardens, producing our own food, free of pesticides – nothing more independent than that, IMO!

VivianKehIndependenceLO_A

I’m feeding the soil, folks!  My buckwheat cover crop is in full bloom, so it is time for me to get my workout and till those goodies back into the soil!  I’m going to do a legume cover crop next.   I’ve been admiring my red wriggler worms, and I just ordered a ton of earthworm cocoons – who knew I’d grow to love these creatures so much?  I came across this quote recently,  by Amy Stewart.

Worms are ruminators; they sift through whatever surrounds them, turn it over, explore it, move through it. They are deliberate creatures, in no great hurry, but always in motion, twisting and burrowing, shrinking and contracting, and eating. They spend their lives in a kind of active meditation, working through the detritus in which they live, the bits of leaves and grass and particles of soil. For a being with such a simple brain, a worm seems, in this way, almost thoughtful (148).

Brilliant.  And she’s writing about worms!!!  So I sought out her book, “The Earth Moved: On the Remarkable Achievements of Earthworms.”  It just arrived and I’m so excited to start reading it.

Back to projects – my most recent one posted yesterday,  a second tutorial with Scraps of Darkness’ June kit, an “Earth” tag.

VivianKehEarthTag_B

As I look at it now, I realize someone without my artistic sensibilities might think, that looks like globs of paste – ahahahaha!  Whelp, I know y’all who take the time to visit me here share some of my interests and my love of texture, so…  I am thinking that in another project, these hills and valleys might make nice trails with mists!   If you missed any of these tutorials and you’d like to check them out, please visit me at my youtube channel!

Have a great weekend, everyone!

9 thoughts on “Week in Review

  1. Oh my…….LOVE your projects, your color choices, your sharing inspiration with all of us. I do admire your creativity so much. I’m always feeling a bit more happy when I see you posted something new. Not only craft projects. But also hearing about your gardening, your worms etc etc…
    Sending big thank yous and hugs from SPAIN

    • So glad to hear this, Monica. It’s interesting to for me, too, to see how crafters’ loves and interests inform their art. Thanks so much for leaving me your sweet comments.

  2. I’m soooo happy I found you on YouTube! You have inspired me to dig through all my “stuff” like an earthworm and turn it into luscious artistic “earth”. BTW, I also had company and did a major clean out. I’m good till Christmas. Lol.
    Thank you for your generosity with your time and sharing your inspiration and talent!!
    Hugs, Susie

    • Yay I’m so glad you are enjoying the videos, Susie! And that you find the worm quote as fantastic as I do!!! Yes, we shall call this cleaning the midyear cleaning lol!

  3. Wow, and Wow again ! I just can’t get enough of your art. I watch your You tubes over and over.
    Thank you for sharing you wonderful talent with all of us !! I’ve played with my hot glue gun and what fun
    it is, who know, well you did !

Leave a Reply

