Uncategorized

Guest Designer with Donna Salazar!

Hi friends! I’ve been sitting on this post for a few weeks, rubbing my palms together because I was just so excited about how this project turned out.

VivianKehCloserLO_A This one is for Donna Salazar Designs, where I’m a guest designer for the month of September.   If you follow me here, I would so appreciate it if you would take a moment to visit me at Donna Salazar Designs today and leave me a little comment love!   If you are here for the first time, you may not know that I am a huge lover of grunge – but the rest of you guys do, I know!  As my style evolves, I would call it more specifically “organic grunge,” as all of it is very much inspired by nature and the human body.  Did you see several of my grungy projects using hot glue featured in a 2 page spread of the July/August 2013 issue of The Stamper’s Sampler?  Getting published in a magazine that I find hugely inspiring was definitely a milestone in my crafty life.

As my work with hot glue has become one of my trademarks, I thought that to start, I’d share that work with Donna’s audience.  Here’s a detail of my hot glue effects created with Mix’d Media Inx and SMOOCH Spritz.

VivianKehCloserLO_CBelow, more detail of the use of Donna’s stencil in conjunction with texture paste, as well as Donna’s alphas for the title, which I’ve altered simply with a pat of pigment ink.

VivianKehCloserLO_EAs this project is on the dark side, I decided to include a light and airy organza for contrast.  Nuts about organza!!!

VivianKehCloserLO_BThe photo was simply stapled to some corrugate from Want2Scrap, and a handmade tag was nestled in between the two pieces. Below is a detail of the tag stamped with Donna’s Indigo Mix’d Media Inx.  On top of that, I heat embossed using a pattern inked through her stencil.

VivianKehCloserLO_D

For the video tutorial and supplies, please stop by Donna’s blog!  Thanks for popping in today – I hope I was able to provide you with a good kick of inspiration!

-Vivian

15 thoughts on “Guest Designer with Donna Salazar!

  1. love this with all my heart…. i get the same natural high that you do when you create this vivian, love love…., i am going to experiment with it as you demonstrate it so well in your video, nice showcasing of the donna salazar clearsnap products.

  2. Having tried some raised areas with tissue and glue and colouring with mists I realise how skilful you are with your glue gun technique because only experts can make it look easy and spontaneous . I love nature and form too , we cannot better what we already have all around us. Your work finds resonance in me. Thank you for sharing it.

  3. Pingback: Guest Designer with Donna Salazar! | Mary's Creative Activities

  4. Your hot glue work is always so amazing. I’ve tried using hot glue a couple of times, but was never too happy with the results I had. When I watch your videos, you always make it seem so easy to do.
    Your work is so inspiring too! I’ve been following you for a couple of months now. I started following you on Scraps of Darkness, and then found your blog. Where ever you say to go, I’ve gone. And each time I haven’t been disappointed with what I’ve seen. You are simply Marvo-lous! Thank you for sharing all your work and wonderful tips!

    Kimberly

  5. This video was amazing, and so is the page you created. I love to watch you create. What you can end up with from some melted glue is absolutely fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

