Uncategorized

Soft Impressions for Autumn

Oh I am so excited to visit with you here today!  I have a brand new video tutorial to share – I will confess, there was so much experimenting, an entire day of experimenting, in fact, most of which got edited out.  Originally, I had one project in mind, and it just wasn’t working out.  And then there was finally that wondrous happy accident, after which, everything moved along quite nicely.  For my background, I had planned to use some leaves that I had die-cut using a Sizzix Bigz “Tattered Leaves” die.  While the leaves were just gorgeous and will surely be used in another autumn project, turns out the die-cut leftovers were going to be most useful for my background.

VivianKehBeloved_CMore specifics on this in the video tutorial, which you can view over at the Sizzix blog today.  I’m especially excited because I think this ethereal effect could be quite nice for Halloween projects, as well. You can see the potential, right?

VivianKehBeloved_B

I die-cut a plethora of leaves, acorns, and the like from the Sizzix “Autumn Gatherings” Strip die and the lovely Core’dinations “Black Magic” Collection– my current favorite cardstock –  for my button studded nest of leaves…

VivianKehBeloved_FThis strip die cuts so many shapes in one pass – very useful for projects at this time of year, as is the Black Magic.   Black Magic is so unique!!!  I used the Sizzix “Weathered Clock” die to frame a pic of my Rama and me.  Look at the depth that is so easy to accomplish with our sturdy Bigz dies!

VivianKehBeloved_E

Love my mom!

VivianKehBeloved_D

More details on my thought process while crafting this and a bit of my mom’s story at Sizzix today.

VivianKehBeloved_AWhile on a roll, I also made a Thanksgiving card using the same techniques.

VivianKehAutumnCard_A

Y’all have started making your Halloween and Thanksgiving cards, right?  The seasons are upon us!  Truthfully, I’m telling myself as much as I’m telling you.  No matter what I do, I’m always such a wreck for the big holidays, especially at Christmas with so many cards to make and not enough time.  As a professed die-hard papercrafter, I know folks would be insulted if I sent them store-bought!  I’d almost rather send them handmade or nothing at all hahaha!  This one uses some great embossing folders and dies that I describe in detail in the video.

VivianKehAutumnCard_CYummy yummy and fast, too, which is a big consideration when you have lots of cards to make – no fussy cutting, please.

When you have time, I hope you will stop by the Sizzix blog today, catch yourself a little video, and leave me a little comment love if you feel it!

Thanks so much, friends!

-V

P.S. If your craft store doesn’t carry what I share in the video, talk to the folks in charge and make requests.  I know that I do, ever so kindly, of course!

10 thoughts on “Soft Impressions for Autumn

  1. Always impressing me !!! Your work is as always fabolous, beautiful, artfull and very creative. I’m feeling so much inspired each time I see any of your creations. You are such a smart and clever ARTIST !!!!
    Sunny hugs from SPAIN

Leave a Reply

