Uncategorized

Keeping Holiday Cards Simple Video Tutorial

I know it’s only the beginning of October, but Thanksgiving and the winter festivities are upon us, indeed!  I always complain that there isn’t enough time to get  all my cards done, but this year, gosh darnit, I am going to send out handmade cards that I like to everyone with whom I’m close and who would appreciate them!  So I think a good chunk of my posts and videos will share easy tips to get those cards done.  In the doing of it, I shall be simultaneously knocking out a card or two or three.

Today I have a quick video tutorial with a few good tips that will help you get your holiday cardmaking done in a timely fashion.

I whipped up a few cards with products from Scraps of Darkness‘  August “Rustic” Kit as well as a few craft room staples.  This is the first, featuring patterned papers from Authentique.

VivianKehAutumnCard_A

I’m always really pleased with the quality of their patterned papers – substantial, nice to handle, and well suited to distressing.  Last year I made a beautiful ornament with another of Authentique’s elegant Christmas themed papers.  Wanna see?

OrnamentB_CKW

That one took a lot of time to make, but I will keep it forever and trim the tree with it for years to come.  OK back to my card.  Here is a detail of the dry embossing…

VivianKehAutumnCard_CIn the interest of time, slapping on some handsome metal sentiments.

VivianKehAutumnCard_BCrinkled autumn leaves…

VivianKehAutumnCard_DI’m going to use up a good portion of the patterned papers in this kit for cards.  The card below uses the same basic techniques, but with patterned papers from Farmhouse Paper Company.  There is a sheet from them in this month’s kit that is all vintage labels like the one featured in this card below – LURVE!

VivianKehVintageCard_AA detail of the rich and easy embossed surface…

VivianKehVintageCard_CAnd the lovely focal image…

VivianKehVintageCard_BMmm mmm mmm!  And the pair…

VivianKehAutumnVintagePairI hope you enjoy my video – it’s a relatively short one.  And best of luck in your holiday cardmaking endeavors!!!

-V

8 thoughts on “Keeping Holiday Cards Simple Video Tutorial

  1. …now I want to make some autumn themed cards too – but I’m enjoying our spring …… Lovely work as ever Vivian! PS I was just looking at those leaf punches recently and wondering how I would use them – now I know 🙂

  2. Yea, so glad to hear your emphasis will be on cards for the next month or two. It is such a wonderful way to share our love of creating handmade items. I have been using my leaf punch lots in the last month. So I was really happy to see your beautiful cards with scattered leaves. Hope we see even more ideas for beautiful backgrounds and minimal add-ons so the beauty of the background is enjoyed too. Terrific ideas as always.
    Thanks!…Jan

  3. Vivian, you have shown that simple can be stunning! I love dry embossing. It always is fun to open that folder and the transformed paper. Thanks for the tips on mass producing cards. My mantra will be keep it simple. Looking forward to seeing your other card ideas. I would really like to get my cards done this year.

  4. The cards are beautiful. I would love to see a video of the ornament, which punch or die did you use to make it? Thank you for all the tips for easy and beautifully simple cards. We are going to Thanksgiving dinner and I want to make a card for the hostess, I am bringing homemade pumpkin pie, so these ideas are a great help to me. I too don’t usually get holiday cards made because I go overboard with my ideas. Canadian Thanksgiving is October l4th, so I had better get busy if I am going to get them done. The embossing folder you used is in the first card is elegant, I have some that are similar that I could use. Thank you for sharing these great tips.
    Jacquelene L
    Canada

Leave a Reply

